HomeCricketNewsSmriti Mandhana Named as ICC Women's Player of the Month for June...

Smriti Mandhana Named as ICC Women’s Player of the Month for June 2024

The left-handed opening batter Smriti Mandhana has been named the ICC Player of the Month for June 2024 in the women’s category edging out Maia Bouchier and Vishmi Gunaratne.

ICC Women’s Player of the Month for June 2024 – Smriti Mandhana

Smriti Mandhana has won the ICC Women’s Player of the Month 2024 beating England’s Maia Bouchier and Sri Lanka’s Vishmi Gunaratne for the first time in her international career.

The 27-year-old batter has made an exceptional performance during the ODI series against South African women on home soil. She smashed two centuries in her first two ODIs, scoring 113 and 136 before scoring 90 runs in the third ODI.

Smriti also becomes the first Indian Woman to score consecutive centuries after hitting 136 runs in the second ODI match against South Africa in the home tour.

Mandhana put in an impressive showdown in the one-off test setting up India’s victory over proteas alongside fellow opener Shafali Verma. The opening duo put a partnership score of 292 runs for the first wicket with Mandhana finishing 149 runs as the hosts piled up 603/6 declaring the first innings.

Despite some proteas resistance, the host claimed the test match during the third session of day four eventually winning the match by 10 wickets. Upon receiving the award, Mandhana opened her desire to continue in the same vein contributing to team success.

“I’m glad to be named ICC Women’s Player of the Month for June. I’m really happy with the way I think the team has performed and I’m happy to contribute to us, winning the ODI and the Test series.

“Hopefully we can continue our form, and I can even further contribute to win matches for India.”

Meanwhile, Jasprit Bimrah was named as the ICC Men’s Player of the Month for June 2024. Bumrah and Mandhana won following a vote conducted among global fans registered at ICC-cricket.com/awards and a specialist panel comprising ICC Hall of Famers, former international players, and media representatives.

Bumrah won the competition in the men’s voting from Rohit Sharma and Rahmanullah Gurbaz of Afghanistan.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read