HomeCricketNewsIND vs SL 2022: SLC Released Sri Lanka Squad for T20I Series vs...

IND vs SL 2022: SLC Released Sri Lanka Squad for T20I Series vs India

Sri Lanka Cricket announced an 18 member squad for the India tour of Sri Lanka to play 3 matches T20I series followed by 2 match Test series.

Sri Lanka Squad for T20I Series vs India

Batter Bhanuka Rajapaksa has been dropped from Sri Lanka’s 18-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against India. Rajapaksa, who was recently a member of the Sri Lanka squad touring Australia for five T20Is, has been left out reportedly due to fitness concerns.

Sri Lanka Cricket have also included a 21-year-old uncapped off-spinner Ashian Daniel, but with ‘subject to ministerial approval’.

Sri Lanka will come to India straight from Australia after the conclusion of the T20I series which they lost 4-1. Sri Lanka avoided a clean sweep with a win of the last match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Lucknow will host the first T20I on February 24 while the next two will be played in Dharamsala on February 26 and 27.

It will be followed by a two-match Test series to be held in Mohali from March 4 to 8 followed by the second Test, a day-night affair, at Bengaluru from March 12 to 16.

Pant, Kohli Misses T20I vs Sri Lanka 

Rishabh Pant has been given a rest from the third and last T20 against West Indies along with Virat Kohli. In the recently concluded India vs West Indies, 3 matches T20I series Pant scored 8 and 52* in the first 2 T20I matches.

rishabh pant
rishabh pant

Earlier to the T20I triumph, India whitewashed the visitors by 3-0 in the 3 match ODI series where Pant scored 11, 18, and 56 runs respectively.

He will also miss the T20s against Sri Lanka and BCCI selectors want to give him an extended break. Pant will return to play 2 Tests at home against Lankans.

Sri Lanka T20 Squad

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka (Vice-Captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama and Ashian Daniel (Subjected to Ministerial approval).

Sri Lanka tour of India Schedule, 2022

Tour: Sri Lanka tour of India, 2022

Match: 2 Tests and 3 T20s

Date: Feb 24, 2022 – Mar 16, 2022

Date Match Venue Time(IST) Time(GMT)
Feb 24 India vs Sri Lanka, 1st T20I Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow 7:00 PM 01:30 PM GMT
Feb 26 India vs Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala 7:00 PM 01:30 PM GMT
Feb 27 India vs Sri Lanka, 3rd T20I Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala 7:00 PM
01:30 PM GMT
Mar 04, Fri – Mar 08 India vs Sri Lanka, 1st Test Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 9:30 AM 04:00 AM GMT
Mar 12, Sat – Mar 16 India vs Sri Lanka, 2nd Test M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 12:30 PM 07:00 AM GMT


Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read