Siraj Faces Off With Marnus Labuschagne On WTC Final Opening Day

Siraj Faces Off With Marnus Labuschagne

On the first day of the WTC 2023 final game between India and Australia, Mohammad Siraj had a face-off moment with Australian batter Marnus Labuschagne.

World Test Championship 2023 final is scheduled to play from June 7 to 11 in Kennington Oval, London between India and Australia.

Siraj Faces Off With Marnus Labuschagne

New Zealand won the first season by defeating India in the finals by 8 wickets. ICC announced a whooping INR 13.22 crore for the winner while the runner-up will receive INR 6.61 crore. Check the prize money for all 9 teams of the WTC 2021-23 cycle.

The WTC 2023 final game will be live-streamed on Disney+Hotstar in India while Star Sports network will broadcast the match live in India. Check out WTC 2023 Final Live Streaming details for your locations:

Apart from viewing online, many fans worldwide tend to travel to England to watch the match live in the stadium. We have listed the WTC 2023 Final Ticket booking link for all 5 days.

Without any doubt, Siraj and Shami gave a good start to the game on the first day of the WTC 2023 final. Siraj even dismissed Usman Khawaja for a duck in the 4th over of the game.

Siraj even had a brief face-off with Australia No. 3 Marnus Labuschagne in the sixth over as he stared at the batter and even exchanged a word or two. Then on the first ball of the eight over, one of Siraj’s delivery took Labuschagne by surprise and hit his thumb.

After the toss, Rohit Sharma said, “We are going to bowl. The conditions and also the weather being overcast. The pitch won’t change too much. Four seamers and one spinner. The spinner is Jadeja. It’s always tough (to leave Ashwin), he’s been a match-winner. He (Rahane) brings a lot of experience, he’s played 80-odd Tests.”

Pat Cummins also said, “We would have bowled as well. Hopefully day four and five, there’s a bit of spin. You think it suits his bowling, he’ll be a key weapon. We’ve been here for about 10 days. Pretty fresh, weather has been nice, we haven’t missed a session.”

Australia scored 73 runs for 2 wickets before the lunch break and left with 67 overs before lunch.

India (Playing XI)

Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Srikar Bharat(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia (Playing XI)

David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey(w), Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Scott Boland.