Sanju Samson Named As Captain of Kerala Ranji Trophy Squad 2024

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson (image: Kerala)

The Indian Wicketkeeper batter Sanju Samson has been named the Kerala captain for the upcoming Ranji Trophy 2023-24.

Kerala Ranji Trophy Squad 2024

Sanju Samson was named as the captain of Kerala for the first two matches in the Ranji Trophy, while Opener Rohan Kunummal has been named as the deputy for the WK-Batter.

Vishnu Vinod has made a comeback while spin-bowling all-rounder Sijomon Joseph has been omitted from the squad. Wicketkeeper Vishnu Raj is the new face of the 16-member squad.

The spin-bowling all-rounder Jalaj Saxena and Shreyas Gopal are the two professionals in the bowling department. Kerala has been placed in group B where they face strong opponents like Mumbai, Bengal, Andhra, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Assam, and Bihar.

The top two teams of each group will progress to the quarter-finals. They were knocked out in the group stage matches in the Ranji Trophy 2022-23 season.

The Ranji Trophy will be scheduled to start on January 05 where Gujarat and Tamil Nadu teams will face each other. Kerala will be facing Uttar Pradesh on January 05 at Alappuzha. They will meet Assam in Guwahati on January 12.

Kerala Ranji Trophy Squad 2024

Sanju Samson (c), Rohan Kunnummal (vc), Krishna Prasad, Anand Krishnan, Rohan Prem, Sachin Baby, Vishnu Vinod, Akshay Chandran, Shreyas Gopal, Jalaj Saxena, Vaishak Chandran, Basil Thampi, Vishweshwar A Suresh, M D Nidheesh, Basil N P, Vishnu Raj (WK).