“Going To Be Very Competitive”, Rohit Sharma Opens on World Cup 2023 Schedule

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Indian captain Rohit Sharma opens on World Cup 2023 Schedule and claims that the upcoming World Cup 2023 will be very competitive.

Rohit Sharma Opens on World Cup 2023 Schedule

ICC launched the Cricket World Cup 2023 schedule on June 26, 2023. The 13th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled to host by India between October 5 to November 19. It will be the first time the competition is held entirely in India; three previous editions were partially hosted there – 1987, 1996, and 2011.

The men’s Indian cricket team won their first-ever ODI World Cup trophy in 1983(3rd edition of the tournament) by beating the then-most dangerous cricket team West Indies by 43 runs.

It is worth mentioning that West Indies are the winners of the first two editions of the ODI World Cup. After a gap of 27 years, under MS Dhoni India won their second ODI World Cup title by defeating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and becomes the first country to win the Cricket World Cup final on home soil.

WC 2011 winner
India – the ICC World Cup 2011 winner

As per the India World Cup 2023 schedule, the host will play their first game against Australia on October 8 in Chidambaram, Chennai.

“This World Cup is going to be very competitive as the game has become faster and teams are playing more positively than ever before,” Rohit was quoted as saying in an ICC release.

“All this augurs well for fans worldwide, promising them many thrilling moments. We look forward to preparing well and being at our best this October-November,” he added.

World Cup 2023 Format

As of the previous edition, the 2023 edition will be played between ten teams. The current format involves a qualification phase, which takes place over the preceding three years, to determine which teams qualify for the tournament phase.

Each participating team will play the other nine teams once in the group stage where a total of 45 group matches will be played.

  • Ten teams will contest for the coveted trophy.
  • The tournament will follow a similar format to the 2019 edition in England and Wales, with a round-robin stage followed by the knockouts.
  • All 10 teams will compete against each other once in the round-robin stage.
  • A victory earns the winning side two points in every match, while a no-result will mean the sides share a point each.
  • The top four teams at the end of the round-robin stage will qualify for the semi-finals.
  • The winners of the two subsequent semi-finals will contest in the final, where the champion will be crowned.

2023 World Cup Qualification Process

The ICC Cricket World Cup Super League 2020-23  will be the main qualification pathway for the tournament. The top seven sides in the CWCSL table, along with India, who will qualify automatically as hosts, will gain direct entry into the tournament.

The five remaining teams on the CWCSL table, the top three teams from ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 and the top two team teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Play-off will then contest in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, which will decide the final two teams to qualify for the World Cup.