HomeCricketNewsRashid Khan Set to Miss BBL 13 Due to Minor Back Surgery

Rashid Khan Set to Miss BBL 13 Due to Minor Back Surgery

Rashid Khan Set to Miss BBL 13: The Afghanistan allrounder Rashid Khan who plies his trade for the Adelaide Strikers has withdrawn from the Big Bash League 2023-24 due to a back injury which requires a minor operation.

Rashid Khan Set to Miss BBL 13

Rashid Khan Set to Miss BBL 13: As per the BBL 2023-24 schedule, the first match of the tournament will be played between Brisbane Heat Men and Melbourne Stars Men on December 7 at The Gabba, Brisbane.

Rashid Khan is the second high-profile player to withdraw from the upcoming BBL with Melbourne Stars’ Harry Brook earlier deciding to pull out in order to manage his workload.

While the Strikers have not yet announced a replacement for Rashid, the club has said they will maintain Rashid’s retention rights for future seasons.

Adelaide Strikers General Manager, Cricket Tim Nielsen talked about the impact of losing the Afghanistan star and said, “Rashid is a beloved member of the Strikers and a fan favourite who has been with us for seven years, so he will be extremely missed this summer,” Nielsen said.

“Rashid loves Adelaide and the Strikers, and we know how much he loves playing in the BBL, and we support him as he has treatment for this injury to ensure his long-term involvement in the game. Our list management and coaching staff will now look at our options for replacing Rashid for the upcoming season and a replacement player will be announced in due course,” Nielsen added.

Having made his BBL debut in December 2017, Rashid has picked 98 wickets in 69 matches at an average of 17.51 and an economy of 6.44.

A total of 44 matches will be played between 8 participating teams in BBL 2023-24. The 44-match count includes 40 league games, Qualifier, Knockout, Challenger and Final. 13 venues across Australia will host the entire tournament.

The Final game of the BBL 2023-24 will be played on January 24 while the Qualifier, Knockout and Challenger will be played on January 19, 20, and 22 respectively.

BBL 2023-24 Venue

BBL 2023-24 Venue: The Big Bash League 2023-24 will be played across 13 venues in Australia. Check out the full list of BBL 2023-24 Venue below:

  1. Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
  2. Lavington Sports Oval, Albury
  3. The Gabba, Brisbane
  4. Manuka Oval, Canberra
  5. International Sports Stadium, Coffs Harbour
  6. Simonds Stadium, Geelong
  7. Bellerive Oval, Hobart
  8. North Tasmania Cricket Association Ground, Launceston
  9. Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
  10. Docklands Stadium, Melbourne
  11. Perth Stadium, Perth
  12. Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
  13. Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read