HomeCricketNewsRachael Haynes Announces International Retirement

Rachael Haynes Announces International Retirement

Rachael Haynes Retirement: Australia’s Rachael Haynes who has won six world championships as a member of the national women’s team announced her retirement from international cricket on Thursday.

Rachael Haynes Announces Retirement

Rachael Haynes who made her international debut in 2009, and went on to play 6 Tests, 77 ODIs, and 84 T20Is.

Speaking about the decision, Haynes said: “Playing at this level isn’t possible without the support of many people. From clubs, states, coaches, family and friends, I’m so grateful to those who helped me along the way. In particular, I want to thank my parents Ian and Jenni, and partner Leah for their unwavering support.

“To all the teammates across my career, you are the reason I’ve played as long as I have. You’ve inspired me to be better every day. I’ve learnt something from all of you, on and off the field. You’ve challenged me as a player, helped me grow as a person and most importantly, made cricket fun.

“One of the great things about having a long career is watching those around you develop. I’m extremely proud of the way this team has brought players in and nurtured their development. The ability to help players transition smoothly has been instrumental to our team’s success. To be a leader within this environment has been the greatest privilege of my career.”

Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia’s Chief Executive Officer, further said: “On behalf of everyone at Cricket Australia I’d like to congratulate Rachael on an amazing career and also recognise the outstanding contribution she has made off the field.

“Rachael’s calm and assured leadership has played a key role in Australia becoming one of the most successful sporting teams in history. She will go down as a great of the game. Rachael has been an inspirational figure for kids coming into the game and to her many teammates and has played an integral part in the advancement of cricket as a sport for women and girls, both here in Australia and around the world.

”We look forward to watching Rachael in the WBBL this season and hope she maintains a close connection to the game in coming years.”

Rachael Haynes Honours


  • 2x Women’s Cricket World Cup champion: 2013, 2022
  • 4x ICC Women’s T20 World Cup champion: 2010, 2012, 2018, 2020
  • 7x Women’s National Cricket League champion: 2011–12, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2016–17, 2017–18, 2018–19
  • 2x Women’s Big Bash League champion: 2015–16, 2020–21
  • 4x Australian Women’s Twenty20 Cup champion: 2009–10, 2010–11, 2012–13, 2014–15


  • WNCL Player of the Tournament: 2017–18
  • WNCL Captains’ Most Valuable Player: 2017–18
  • 3x WNCL Player of the Final: 2011–12, 2013–14, 2014–15
  • Sharon Tredrea Award[a] winner: 2010–11
  • Alex Blackwell Medal[b] winner: 2017–18
  • ICC Women’s Player of the Month: March 2022
Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read