HomeCricketNewsPAK vs SA: Pakistan Scripts Record by Beating South Africa in T20I...

PAK vs SA: Pakistan Scripts Record by Beating South Africa in T20I Series

Babar Azam-led Pakistan scripted history on Sunday evening as they defeated South Africa in the final T20I of the three-match series by 4 wickets to register 100th win in the shortest format of the game. They have become the first men’s team to reach a century of wins in the shortest format of the game.

Pakistan Beats South Africa

With 16 needed off the final two overs, Andile Phehlukwayo bowled a waist-high no-ball which Hasan hit for six to ease the pressure. He then hit a four and a six to seal victory.

Mohammad Nawaz finished with 18 not out, while skipper Babar Azam scored 44 and in-form Mohammad Rizwan made 42.

Azam’s view on Pakistan’s 100th Victory

The victory is Pakistan’s 100th in 163 matches, the first team to complete a century of wins in T20 internationals.

“It was a complete team effort,” said Azam. “Bowlers were exceptional in the beginning before Miller made the match sensational with his knock. “We did well to cross the target with some batting in late overs and Hasan and Nawaz saw us through. This series win will help us progress as a team.”

Azam’s counterpart Heinrich Klaasen blamed his side’s poor batting early on.

“We started with some cowboy cricket and I take full responsibility for that collapse,” said Klaasen.

Pakistan vs South Africa Short Highlights

Pakistan, who opened with Haider Ali instead of Azam, raced to 51 off 6.1 overs before Shamsi dismissed Haider (15), removed Rizwan leg-before and bowled Hussain Talat for five to halt the home team’s progress.

Rizwan, who hit 104 not out and 51 in the first two matches, struck seven boundaries, including two towering sixes, off 30 balls.

Pakistan won the first match by three runs while South Africa took the second by six wickets, both also played in Lahore.

South Africa lost their first six wickets for 48 and their seventh at 64.

Nawaz dismissed Reeza Hendricks (two) and Jon-Jon Smuts (one). Then debutant Zahid Mahmood removed Klaasen (nought) and Janneman Malan (27) off succesive deliveries in his first over.

When Phehlukwayo went for a duck, South Africa had lost four wickets for seven runs in just nine balls. Miller added 17 for the eighth wicket with Bjorn Fortuin (10) before adding a further 58 for the next in just five overs with Lutho Sipamla who scored eight not out.

Miller hit four sixes in the last over bowled by Faheem Ashraf, which yielded 25. Leg-spinner Mahmood took 3-40, left-arm spinner Nawaz claimed 2-13 and paceman Hasan finished with 2-29.

South Africa had previously won five and drawn one T20I series in Asia. 

Also read: Pakistan Move up on ICC Test Team Ranking List

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read