HomeCricketNewsPakistan Move up on ICC Test Team Ranking List

Pakistan Move up on ICC Test Team Ranking List

With a convincing 95-run win over South Africa, Pakistan climbed to the fifth spot in the latest ICC Test Team Ranking.

Pakistan moves top in ICC Test Ranking

The hosts beat the Proteas by 95 runs in the second Test to sweep the two-match series. Chasing a target of 370, South Africa were all out for 270 on the final day of the Test. Pakistan registered their first Test series win over the Proteas since 2003.

Riding on the series win, Pakistan have leapfrogged Sri Lanka and South Africa and now sit on the fifth spot in the latest ICC Test Rankings. Pakistan currently have 90 rating points while South Africa have dropped one spot to the sixth and have 89 rating points.

Kane Williamson-led New Zealand with 118.44 points are at the top of the table and are closely followed by India – who have 117.65 points. Australia who recently lost the Border-Gavaskar trophy to India is at the number three spot with 113 points, while 2019 World Cup champions England are on the fourth spot.

while Pakistan and South Africa are at the fifth and sixth spot respectively. The Men in Green and the Proteas are out of the race to secure a place in the final.

As far as the World Test Championship points table is concerned, India are still on top followed by New Zealand – who have already qualified for the final.

World Test Championship Finals

New Zealand had become the first team to secure their place in the final while the likes of India, England and Australia are still vying for the other spot. The ongoing series between India and England will determine who will be the second finalist.

For India to qualify, they need to beat England by 2-0, 2-1, 3-0, 3-1, or 4-0 in the ongoing series.

And for England to make it through, they need to beat India 3-0, 3-1 or 4-0 in the ongoing series.

And for Australia – who were looking to make it up until the Border-Gavaskar trophy – will need to rely on the results of the India-England series. For Australia to qualify, one of the three scenarios has to play out – India beat England 1-0, England beat India 1-0, 2-0, or 2-1, or India and England draw the ongoing series either 0-0, 1-1, or 2-2.

Also read: Pakistan cricketer Shoaib Malik Survives Horrific Car Accident

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read