HomeCricketNewsSouth Africa Skipper Dane Van Niekerk Ruled Out of Women's WC 2022

South Africa Skipper Dane Van Niekerk Ruled Out of Women’s WC 2022

South African Women’s skipper Dane van Niekerk is likely to miss ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 tournament after being ruled out of action for the next three months owing to an ankle fracture.

Dane Van Niekerk Ruled Out of Women’s WC 2022

Dane van Niekerk has sustained a left ankle fracture in the last week, ruling her out for a minimum of three months, and will be unavailable for the training camp, West Indies tour and the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup hosted in New Zealand from March 4.

“As things stand, she doesn’t require surgery but will be monitored closely. It’s a stable fracture with minimal displacement and her recovery timeline is no less than 12 weeks,” Proteas team doctor Tshegofatso Gaetsewe said.

Also, the Convenor of Selectors of the South African side, Clinton du Preez said that the unavailability of Dane van Niekerk is a massive loss for the country.

Adding that the South African side will miss Niekerk’s leadership skills, du Preez concluded by stating that she hopes that Niekerk can return back to the national setup soon.

“Losing Dane is massive for the team and the country, we will sorely miss her leadership and all-around cricket abilities. I would like to wish her all the best with her recovery and a smooth and seamless return to the national team,” Convenor of Selectors, Clinton du Preez said. “This brings about an opportunity for another player within the pipeline.”

The 21-member extended squad will enter a bio-secure environment on Friday and will be pruned further for the ODIs following a 10-day training camp.

The list includes uncapped Western Province batter, Delmar Tucker, while Raisibe Ntozakhe has earned herself another shot at a comeback for the ODIs in Johannesburg between January 28 and February 6.

South Africa Training squad

Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, Andrie Steyn, Chloe Tryon, Delmari Tucker, Laura Wolvaardt

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read