HomeCricketNewsN Jagadeesan Surpasses Rohit Sharma With Historic 277-Run Knock in Vijay Hazare...

N Jagadeesan Surpasses Rohit Sharma With Historic 277-Run Knock in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Tamil Nadu batter Narayan Jagadeesan who failed to register his name in the IPL 2023 retained players list has now become a piece of sensation news for his historic 277-run knock in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022.

Narayan Jagadeesan who has been a part of Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2022 was released by the franchise ahead of the IPL 2023 auction.

With his impressive knock, Narayan Jagadeesan has surpassed many legends and reached a new milestone.

Narayan Jagadeesan who out was in his peak form in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy smashed his 5th consecutive List-A century on November 21 against Arunachal Pradesh.

Narayan Jagadeesan Records List in List A Format

Narayan Jagadeesan has the most number of consecutive tons in a single season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, having surpassed players like Virat Kohli, Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devdutt Padikkal, who have scored four centuries each.

Kohli had struck four tons in the 2008/09 season while Gaikwad did it in 2021/22 and Shaw and Padikkal both in 2020/21.

Most centuries in Vijay Hazare Trophy

  • 5* – N Jagadeesan
  • 4 – Virat Kohli, Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal

Jagadeesan surpassed Sri Lanka legend Kumar Sangakkara, South Africa’s Alviro Petersen, and Karnataka player Devdutt Padikkal, all of whom have four centuries on the trot in the history of List A cricket.

Most consecutive centuries in List-A

  • 5* – N Jagadeesan
  • 4 – Kumar Sangakkara, Alviro Petersen, Devdutt Padikkal

Narayan Jagadeesan also broke the record of the highest-even individual score in List-A, held by England’s Alistair Brown who scored 268 runs against Glamorgan in 2002. He also surpassed Indian skipper Rohit Sharma’s record of scoring 264 runs against Sri Lanka.

Highest individual List-A score

  • 277 – N Jagadeesan (Tamil Nadu vs Arunachal Pradesh), 2022
  • 268 – Alistair Brown (Surrey vs Glamorgan), 2002
  • 264 – Rohit Sharma (India vs Sri Lanka), 2014
  • 257 – D’Arcy Short (Western Australia vs Queensland), 2018
  • 248 – Shikhar Dhawan (India A vs South Africa A), 2013

Highest partnerships in List A cricket

  • 416 – N Jagadeesan & Sai Sudarshan (Tamil Nadu vs Arunachal Pradesh), 2022
  • 372 – C Gayle – M Samuels (West Indies vs Zimbabwe), 2015
  • 367* – M van Wyk – C Delport (Dolphins vs Knights), 2014
  • 367* – D Bell-Drummond – B Duckett (Lions vs Sri Lanka A), 2016
  • 365 – J Campbell – Shai Hope (Ireland vs Dublin), 2019

Highest team totals in List-A cricket

  • 506/2 – Tamil Nadu (vs Arunal Pradesh), Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022
  • 498/4 – England (vs Netherlands), ODI 2022
  • 496/4 – Surrey (vs Gloucestershire), One-Day Cup 2007
  • 481/6 – England (vs Australia), ODI 2018
  • 458/4 – India A (vs Leicestershire), List-A 2018

Narayan Jagadeesan took just 114 balls to get to his double hundred making it the joint fastest in all List A cricket. He equaled Travis Head who achieved the feat for South Australia against Queensland in Adelaide in October 2021.

The previous fastest double century in Indian domestic cricket was off 132 balls by Karanveer Kaushal for Uttarakhand in the 2018/19 Vijay Hazare trophy.

Narayan Jagadeesan’s 277 includes 15 sixes – The most number of sixes by a batter in a single fixture in Indian domestic cricket. Jagadeesan surpassed 12 maximums by Yashaswi Jaiswal for Mumbai against Jharkhand in Alur in 2019.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read