LPL 2024 Dates Announced; Set to be played in July

LPL 2023 champions

Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the dates of the fifth edition of the LPL 2024 which will be played in July.

LPL 2024 Dates Announced

The Lanka Premier League is a domestic competition played by Sri Lankan Cricketers and foreign cricketers. The tournament will be played between 5 teams playing in 24 matches.

The first round of the competition will have 20 matches while the knockout stages will have four matches including Qualifiers 1 and 2, the eliminators, and the finals.

Each team will consist of a minimum of 20 players and a maximum of 24 players with 6 overseas players. B-Love Kandy are the previous winners of the LPL 2023 season.

However, the MLC is set to start on July 04 and will be played until July 28. The Hundred 2024 competition also will be playing from July 23 to August 18. This was the same case in last year’s edition of the tournament where LPL struggled to attract foreign contracts.

The first three editions of the tournament were won by teams bearing the Jaffna Kings which was captained by Thisara Perera. B-Love Kandy led by Wanindu Hasaranga are the winners of the LPL 2023 season.