Ishant Sharma Included in Delhi Capitals Squad for CSK Clash

IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals

Ishant Sharma who got injured in Delhi Capitals’ last match against Punjab Kings made his way back into the squad for their clash against Chennai Super Kings.

Ishant Sharma Named in Playing 11 For CSK clash

Delhi Capitals senior bowler Ishant Sharma has left the field midway after injuring himself while fielding in 2024 IPL’s 2nd match against Punjab Kings on March 23.

Ishant twists his right ankle and struggles in pain while attempting to pick up the ball. Following his immense pain, the team’s physio entered the scene and helped him to leave the field.

Pravin Dubey comes as the substitute player for the injured Ishant Sharma. Notably in the 4th over Ishant dismissed the dangerous Shikhar Dhawan for 22 runs and also dismissed Jonny Bairstow via runout at the non-striker end.

While DC has not made any official statement regarding Ishant’s injury status, he was expected to make his return in DC’s next match. As expected Delhi Capitals named Ishant Sharma in their playing11 against CSK.

Winning the toss, DC Captain Rishabh Pant said “We’ll bat first. Wicket looks good, we want to use it as a batting track, put runs on the board. (On playing home games in Vizag) I think it makes a lot of difference, but we practiced here. We came here and got 10 days at this wicket. Two changes – Kuldeep had a niggle, Prithvi Shaw comes in. Ricky Bhui is out, Ishant Sharma comes in”.

Prithvi Shaw who missed Delhi’s first two matches also made his way back into the game against CSK. With Shaw’s return, Delhi Capitals are expected to register their maiden victory of the season today.

With back-to-back defeats in their first two matches, Delhi Capitals are positioned in the 9th spot in the IPL 2024 points table.

Delhi Capitals Playing 11

Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Abishek Porel, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Chennai Super Kings Playing 11

Ruturaj Gaikwad(c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni(w), Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Matheesha Pathirana, Mustafizur Rahman