HomeCricketNewsIndia Squad for Women's Asia Cup 2024 announced, Harmanpreet Kaur named captain

India Squad for Women’s Asia Cup 2024 announced, Harmanpreet Kaur named captain

BCCI announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup 2024 scheduled to be played between July 19 and 28 in Sri Lanka. Harmanpreet Kaur has been named the captain of the 15-member squad while star opening batter Smriti Mandhana named her deputy.

The defending champions India will play their first match of the Women’s Asia Cup 2024 on July 19 against their arch-rival Pakistan in Dambulla.

The eight participating teams have been grouped into two groups of four teams. India joins Pakistan, UAE and Nepal in Group A, while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Thailand and Malaysia slot into Group B.

Team India hasn’t made any surprise inclusion in the squad, instead left out Amanjot Kaur and uncapped youngster Shabnam Shakil from the 17-member squad that’s currently playing against South Africa.

Shweta Sehrawat, Saika Ishaque, Tanuja Kanwer and Meghna Singh have been picked as the travelling reserves.

Harmanpreet Kaur
Harmanpreet Kaur (Image: BCCI)

Indian Women’s T20I team need to tweak their performance in the T20I format as can be seen through their performance in the recently concluded T20I match against South Africa at home.

The visitors handed a 12-run defeat to India in the first match of the 3-match T20I series and made a lead. The team’s flaw in the bowling department led South Africa to score 189 runs at the end of 20 overs.

Though batters made them impressive contribution they fell 12 runs short for the victory and lost the game.

India Squad for Women’s Asia Cup 2024

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Richa Ghosh (wk), Uma Chetry (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy, Renuka Singh Thakur, Dayalan Hemalatha, Asha Sobhana, Radha Yadav, Shreyanka Patil, Sajana Sajeevan

Travelling reserves: Shweta Sehrawat, Saika Ishaque, Tanuja Kanwer, Meghna Singh

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read