HomeCricketNewsEngland World Cup 2023 Provisional Squad, Ben Stokes Returns

England World Cup 2023 Provisional Squad, Ben Stokes Returns

With only less than 2 months available for the ODI World Cup 2023, which is scheduled to be hosted by India, all countries start to give updates on the squad selection for the tournament. Only Australia and England have announced their Provisional squads for the tournament.

England World Cup 2023 Provisional squad

The England and Wales Cricket Board have announced their 15-member Provisional squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India.

England have made up calls for their initial squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, with Ben Stokes included in the squad which sidelined young batter Harry Brook and bowler Jofra Archer.

Ben Stokes has reversed his decision on retiring from ODI cricket and would return for the ODI series against New Zealand. Their ODI series before the tournament will serve as a warmup match for both sides.

England selector Luke Wright confirmed the 15-member squad to take on New Zealand is also the provisional World Cup Squad. Harry Brook misses his maiden World Cup appearance and said that Wright also revealed Archer would only be included in England’s World Cup plan as a travel reserve.

Ben Stokes
Ben Stokes(Image: ECB)

“This is the squad we are going to put forward,” said Wright. “It’s incredibly hard on some players that are going to miss out. It shows the strength and depth we have in English Cricket and there are other names who are knocking on the door as well.

“With the balance of the squad, and with only fifteen that you can name it’s incredibly tough.”

“The return of Ben Stokes only adds to that quality with his match-winning ability and leadership. I am certain that every fan will enjoy seeing him back in an England ODI shirt again.

Teams will not have to submit their provisional World Cup squad to ICC until September 5 and can change squad until September 28.

“The initial squad submission deadlines at our tournaments are 30 days before the support periods start. The support periods start one week before the tournaments,” said ICC.

“Changes may be made before the support period without seeking permission, but once the support period kicks in, the Event Technical Committee needs to approve replacements,” ICC added.

Only Australia and England have announced their provisional squad for the big event, while the other eight teams have not yet been announced.

England is set to start their campaign on the inaugural day of the ODI World Cup on October 5 while they take on New Zealand at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

England Provisional Squad for World Cup

Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes.

CHECKWho is Gus Atkinson, the Surprise Inclusion in England’s World Cup Squad

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read