HomeCricketNewsECB Announces Women's Ashes 2023 ODI Squad

ECB Announces Women’s Ashes 2023 ODI Squad

Ahead of the start of the ODI matches of the Women’s Ashes 2023, ECB has announced the ODI squad under Heather Knight.

Women’s Ashes 2023 ODI Squad

As per the Women’s Ashes 2023 schedule, the first ODI match will be played on July 12 at County Ground, Bristol with the following two matches to be played in Southampton and Taunton on 16 and 18 July.

The 15-member squad will be led by Heather Knight while batter Tammy Beaumont and pacer Lauren Filer will also join the group after their impressive performances in the Trent Bridge Test.

Beaumont scored a sizzling double-century in the one-off Test while Filer scalped four wickets. Filer could be in line to make her debut in the 50-over format during the series.

On their inclusion, head coach Jon Lewis stated, “We’re pleased to welcome Tammy (Beaumont) and Lauren (Filer) back into the group. Tammy showed her quality during the Test match with her double-hundred while Lauren offers us real pace in our bowling alongside Issy (Wong).”

Lewis added, “The support the team have received throughout the series so far has been incredible and it is fitting to finish with this deciding ODI campaign as the first sell-out series in England Women’s history.

“We respect Australia and know that this part of the Ashes series will again be a big challenge. However, we take a great deal of confidence and belief from our recent T20 victories and will, as always, be trying to put on a great showing for our fans.”

The Women’s Ashes looked out of England’s grasp after the loss in the Test match and the first T20I but a brilliant fightback in the remaining two T20Is has now left the multi-format series alive. Australia leads the points table 6-4 but with 6 points still up for grabs, all three results are still technically possible.

England Squad

Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Lauren Filer, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Issy Wong, Danni Wyatt

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read