HomeCricketNewsECB Announced England Squad for Commonwealth Games 2022

ECB Announced England Squad for Commonwealth Games 2022

England Squad for Commonwealth Games 2022: England Cricket Board have announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming T20I against South Africa women as well as for the Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham.

England Squad for Commonwealth Games 2022

Commonwealth Games 2022 will begin on July 28 and will end on August 8. A total of 8 teams will participate to play the women’s cricket tournament in Commonwealth Games 2022.

Notably, it will be cricket’s first inclusion in the Commonwealth Games since a List A men’s tournament was held at the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

The first cricket match of the Commonwealth Games 2022 will be played between Australia and India on July 29 in Edgbaston, Birmingham. England who placed in group B will play their first match on 30 July against Sri Lanka.

ECB have named Heather Knight as the captain of the side for the Commonwealth Games at home in Birmingham. Before that, the same squad is set to face South Africa in a three-match T20I series starting on 21 July.

England Squad: Heather Knight (Captain), Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Nat Sciver, Bryony Smith, Issy Wong, DANNI WYATT

Speaking on the squad selection, England captain Heather Knight said, “It is such a massive opportunity for us and for the game to compete in the Commonwealth Games, especially on home soil.

“When you’re younger you watch these multi-sport events but, as a cricketer, you don’t imagine you’ll be out there representing Team England. It also gives us a brilliant chance to engage some young people in cricket who maybe haven’t played or watched it before.

“It’s a hugely exciting squad and for us as a group to have a chance to make history and be the first women’s cricketers to medal at the Commonwealth Games is something that can really drive us forward.”

The women’s cricket tournament final match will be played on August 8 which will decide the gold medal winner.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read