HomeCricketNewsChetan Sharma To Continue As Chairman Of BCCI's Selection Committee

Chetan Sharma To Continue As Chairman Of BCCI’s Selection Committee

Chairman Of BCCI’s Selection Committee: Former India cricketer Chetan Sharma is set to continue as the Chairman Of BCCI’s Selection Committee.

Chairman Of BCCI’s Selection Committee

Chetan Sharma who was the head of the BCCI selection committee for the men’s cricket team from December 2020 till late last year, will continue as the Chairman Of BCCI’s Selection Committee.

Other selectors in the panel are Sridharan Sharath from South Zone, Shiv Sundar Das from Central Zone, Subroto Banerjee from the East and Salil Ankola from West Zone.

He made his first-class debut for Punjab at the age of 17 and appeared in One Day Internationals a year later. He was the first man to take a hat trick in the ODI world cup. He achieved this feat in the 1987 Reliance World Cup against New Zealand.

Regarding this BCCI released an official statement which reads: The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) comprising Ms Sulakshana Naik, Mr Ashok Malhotra, and Mr Jatin Paranjape undertook an extensive process for selecting members of the All-India Senior Selection Committee.

The Board received around 600 applications following its advertisement for the five posts issued on its official website on 18th November 2022.

Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews. Based on the interviews, the Committee has recommended the following candidates for the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee.

  • Chetan Sharma
  • Shiv Sundar Das
  • Subroto Banerjee
  • Salil Ankola
  • Sridharan Sharath

The committee further recommended Mr Chetan Sharma for the role of Chairman of the senior men’s selection committee.

After his retirement, Chetan became a cricket commentator. He opened a Fast bowling cricket academy in Panchkula in Haryana in 2004 which closed down in 2009. Chetan is the nephew of the former Indian cricketer Yashpal Sharma.

Chetan contested the Lok Sabha (2009) polls from Faridabad on a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) ticket. He came 3rd polling 18.2 per cent votes. In December 2020, he was elected as Chairman of the selection committee of the Indian cricket team.

READ: “Yo-Yo Test and Dexa Will Now Be Part Of Selection Criteria”, BCCI

Later in November 2022, he was sacked from the position after team India’s exit from the Cricket World Cup. In December 2020, Sharma-himself a former international for India-was named Chief Selector. In its release, BCCI specified the criteria for consideration and solicited applications for the position of National Selectors.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read