Boult, Jamieson Returns to New Zealand Squad for England ODI Series

New Zealand
New Zealand (NZC)

New Zealand Squad for England ODI Series: New Zealand Cricket has announced a 15-member ODI squad for their upcoming England tour where the Kiwis will face their 2019 World Cup final contender to play 4 T20Is and 4 ODIs between August 30 to September 15.

But before landing in England, the New Zealand men’s cricket team will travel to UAE to play 3 T20Is between August 17 to August 20 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai.

Boult Included in New Zealand Squad for England ODI Series

New Zealand Squad for England ODI Series: New Zealand Cricket has released the full squad details for their multi-tour schedules ahead of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India. New Zealand will also play a 3-match ODI series against Bangladesh between September 21 to 26 in Dhaka.

The England tour and Bangladesh tour will definitely lay a strong foundation for their World Cup 2023 preparation.

In the absence of injured Kane Williamson, Tom Latham has been named as the captain of the New Zealand ODI squad for the England tour. Experienced left-armer Trent Boult and fellow pacer Kyle Jamieson return to New Zealand’s ODI squad for the England series.

All-rounder Michael Bracewell remains sidelined as he recovers from his Achilles injury, while Mark Chapman and Jimmy Neesham stay in New Zealand as they await the births of their first children.

kyle jamieson
kyle jamieson

Coach Gary Stead Opens on the Importance of the England Tour

Coach Gary Stead believes taking on the reigning World Cup champions(England) will provide his side with a stern test.

“England has been an impressive white ball side for quite some time and we’re excited to be taking them on at home on the eve of the World Cup. We’ve obviously had a history of great games against them and I’m sure the four matches will provide all the usual drama and excitement.

It should be a really competitive series and I know the group will be looking forward to returning to play at the likes of The Oval and Lord’s once again”, Stead said.

Stead is looking forward to seeing the return of Jamieson and Boult and believes the duo can be a force at the World Cup.

Gary Stead
Gary Stead

“We’re delighted to include Kyle in this squad alongside his earlier selection for the T20 squads to play the UAE and England. He’s been working extremely hard on his rehabilitation following back surgery and we’re looking forward to seeing him back playing on the international stage.

It’s also great to welcome Trent back into our ODI unit as he begins his preparation towards the World Cup in India”, Stead added.

New Zealand also named a T20I squad for three matches against the UAE later this month and four games in England prior to the ODIs. Tim Southee will captain the side throughout those matches.

Pacers Blair Tickner and Ben Lister were included in New Zealand’s T20I squad for the three-match series against UAE, scheduled to be played next week. The move came after Lockie Ferguson and Henry Shipley withdrew their participation from the series.

Ferguson has signed up with Welsh Fire to participate in the ongoing season of The Hundred, which already includes 10 New Zealand players. On the other hand, Shipley suffered a back injury while playing for Sussex in the UK, and will undergo further assessment back in New Zealand.

New Zealand Squad for England ODI Series

Tom Latham (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Will Young

New Zealand T20I squad for series against UAE and England

Tim Southee (c), Finn Allen (Eng), Adi Ashok (UAE), Chad Bowes (UAE), Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver (UAE), Devon Conway (Eng), Lockie Ferguson (Eng), Dean Foxcroft (UAE), Matt Henry (Eng), Ben Lister (UAE), Kyle Jamieson, Cole McConchie (UAE), Adam Milne (Eng), Daryl Mitchell (Eng), Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips (Eng), Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi (Eng), Blair Tickner (UAE), Will Young (UAE)