HomeCricketNewsTamim Iqbal joins Bangladesh Squad for New Zealand ODI Series

Tamim Iqbal joins Bangladesh Squad for New Zealand ODI Series

With Litton Das set to lead Bangladesh in the ODI series against New Zealand, the senior player Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudullah was calledup for the side.

Bangladesh Squad for New Zealand ODI Series

Bangladesh is scheduled to play a three-match ODI series against New Zealand between September 21 and 26. The All-rounder Mahmudullah was sidelined after the England Series earlier this year due to a poor run of form.

The Bangladesh captain and senior batter Tamim Iqbal announced his decision to step down as ODI captain on August 3, 2023.

This happened after his recent decision to quit the ODI format which was reversed immediately with the intervention of Bangladesh’s Prime Minister. Tamim Iqbal announced his retirement from international cricket on July 6, but after meeting Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, he withdrew the decision. He was sidelined from action due to a back injury.

The other players Soumya Sarkar and Nurul Hasan have returned to the squad while the captain Shakib Al Hasan was rested along with Mushfiqur, and Mehidy Hasan. The bowling trio pacer Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, and Shoriful Islam were also rested.

The uncapped players are Zakir Hasan, Paceman Syed, Khaled Ahmed, and leg-spinner Rishad Hossain were included in the squad.

“The decision to rest players was taken in consideration of the World Cup in India, which will be a long tournament, [and] where ensuring the mental and physical fitness of the cricketers will be very important,” chief selector Minhajul Abedin said. “The series against New Zealand provides us an opportunity to take a look at some other players as well ahead of this major event.

“The squad is a blend of experience and youth, and only Zakir, Khaled and Rishad have not featured in ODIs yet. Zakir was very close to playing against Ireland in March before he suffered an unfortunate injury. Khaled has done well in his List A career, and Rishad offers a different dimension to our bowling attack.”

Bangladesh does not have Edabot Hossain in the squad as he is undergoing knee surgery and will be missing the New Zealand series and World Cup. Najmul Hossain Shanto will miss the ODI series ash he sustained a hamstring injury after playing two games in Asia Cup 2023.

Bangladesh Squad for New Zealand ODI series

Litton Das (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Anamul Haque, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Nurul Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Zakir Hasan, Rishad Hossain and Syed Khaled Ahmed.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read