Australia records for biggest wins in ODIs by runs

Australia Cricket team
Australia Cricket team (image: CA)

Despite starting the World Cup 2023 with a defeat, Australia had one of its biggest wins in ODIs by runs against the Netherlands.

Biggest wins in ODIs by runs

Australia is scheduled to play against the Netherlands in the 24th ICC World Cup match on October 24 at Arun Jaitley Stadium. Winning the toss Australia chose to bat where Mitchell Marsh and David Warner opened the innings while Aryan Dutt opened the bowling attack.

With the dismissal of Mitchell Marsh for 9 runs by van Beek, Warner and Steven Smith made a partnership to set one of the highest totals in World Cups for Australia. David Warner scored 104 runs on 93 deliveries while Steven Smith scored 71 runs on 68 deliveries and was sent out by Aryan Dutt.

Labuschagne scored 62 runs and was sent out by Bas de Leede. Glenn Maxwell was impressive on the match scoring 106 runs on 44 deliveries and was sent out by van Beek. Other batters were sent out with low figures by a terrific bowling attack from South African bowlers.

Van Beek was impressive as he dismissed four wickets. By the end of 50 overs, Australia scored 399 runs losing 8 wickets.

With the target of 400 runs, Vikramjit Singh and Max Odowd opened the innings while Mitchell Starc was on the bowling attack. Max ODowd was sent out by Starc for 6 runs while Vikramjit Singh scored 25 runs before being dismissed on a runout.

Hazlewood dismissed Ackermann for 10 runs while Mitchell Marsh dismissed Sybrand for 11 runs. With Cummins dismissing Bas de Leede for four runs Netherlands’ middle order was collapsed by the South African bowling attack.

Adam Zampa dismissed four wickets while Mitchell Marsh dismissed two wickets. By the end, the Netherlands was all for 90 runs losing all 10 wickets in the 21st over. Glenn Maxwell was named as the Player of the Match.

India’s victory against Sri Lanka with 317 runs in the 3rd ODI match at Greenfield stadium in 2023 tops the list for biggest wins in ODIs by runs. Australia’s victory stands second with 309 runs difference.

Zimbabwe’s victory against the USA with 304 runs stands third on the list in 2023. New Zealand’s victory against Ireland with 290 runs in 2008 stands fourth in the list. Australia’s victory against Afghanistan with 275 runs in 2015 stands fifth on the list.

Team 1 (Winning) Team 2 Runs difference year
India Sri Lanka 317 2023
Australia Netherlands 309 2023
Zimabawe USA 304 2023
New Zealand Ireland 290 2008
Australia Afghanistan 275 2015