HomeCricketNewsAustralia collapsed Indian batting lineup in WC finals at Ahmedabad

Australia collapsed Indian batting lineup in WC finals at Ahmedabad

The Indian side struggled to score in the finals of the World Cup 2023 due to the fall of the top batting order at Ahmedabad Stadium.

Australia collapsed Indian batting lineup in WC finals

India has been running an unbeaten streak in the World Cup 2023 winning 10 matches in a row including the first semifinal match against New Zealand. On the Other hand, Australia had a poor start in the campaign but had a great comeback as they beat South Africa in the semi-finals to secure a spot in the finals.

India is scheduled to play World Cup 2023 finals against Australia at Ahmedabad. The most expected match of the tournament started with Australia winning the toss and chose to bowl.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma had an incredible start as he scored 47 runs with four fours and three sixes while Mitchell Starc dismissed Shubman Gill for 4 runs in the fifth over of the innings.  Virat Kohli came to bat after Gill where he awaited a fifth consecutive half-century or more. He surpassed the records of Sachin Tendulkar with his 50 ODI tons in the tournament.

However, the skipper was sent out during the 10th over of the match as he ended up miscuing a shot off Glenn Maxwell where the ball went to Head who was fielding at cover point.

The Australian fielder covered a lot of ground while running to catch the shot from Rohit Sharma which he eventually succeeded in to give a major breakthrough for his side.

He scored his fifty in the match, but Cummins disrupted Kohli’s plan dismissing him in the 29th over. KL Rahul joined with Kohli and increased the runs in the scoreboard. He tried to keep up the innings after the dismissal of Kohli but with the dismissal of Ravindra Jadeja, and Suryakumar Yadav in the 36th over, India had lost 5 wickets on scoring 178 runs.

KL Rahul has been dismissed by Starc for 66 runs in the 42nd over. With only Suryakumar Yadav is the only hope of the side as he was the last specialist batter who could turn the tables.

With the dismissal of Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami for 9 and 6 runs, Adam Zampa dismissed Bumrah for 1 run. Later Suryakumar Yadav was dismissed by Hazlewood for 18 runs in the 48th over scoring 226 runs.

Mitchell Starc dismissed three wickets while Hazlewood and Cummins dismissed two wickets each. With Australia collapsing the Indian batting order to avoid setting up a high target, the match rests in the hands of the Indian bowling department. India scored 240 runs losing all 10 wickets by the end of 50 overs at Narendra Modi Stadium.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read