HomeCricketNewsAshes 2023 5th Test Toss: Pat Cummins wins his first toss in...

Ashes 2023 5th Test Toss: Pat Cummins wins his first toss in 6 matches

Ashes 2023 5th Test Toss: Australian Cricket team won the toss and opted to bowl first in the 5th and final test of the Ashes 2023 at Kennington Oval, London. Notably, this will be Pat Cummins’s first toss win in his last 6 matches.

Ashes 2023 5th Test Toss Update

Australia who already retained the Ashes trophy will now seek a clear victory by winning the last Test game. Australia won the first two games of the Ashes 2023 while England won the 3rd Ashes. While England are under pressure to win the 4th match to stay alive, the final day of the match was washed off with rain.

England are looking for a moral victory at The Oval while Australia are looking to win a series in England outright for the first time in 22 years. England wants to deny them that achievement even though they don’t believe in winning and losing.

England Cricket team
England won the 3rd Ashes 2023 Test by beating Australia by 3 wickets. (Image: ECB)

Winning the toss Australian captain Pat Cummins said “Had to double check that (when it came down tails, first toss won in this series). We will have a bowl. Little bit of cloud cover and wicket looks good. It is a similar side to the one that played four years ago (2019), we know what we did that time and how we can change things. One change – Cam Green misses out and Todd Murphy comes in“.

England captain Ben Stokes said: “We would have had a bowl as well, just because of the overhead conditions and every time we have won the toss we have bowled. You relatively know one day, two day out what team you are going with, letting the lads know gives them time to prepare. Australia want to leave here winning the Ashes, we want to draw the series and though they have retained the Ashes, we still have a lot to play for”.

Ashes 2023 5th Test Playing 11

England’s decision to go in with an unchanged XI has certainly raised some eyebrows with many not expecting Jimmy Anderson, who’s looked like but a shadow of himself in this series, to retain his spot, particularly on a ground that he doesn’t have the best record at.

While the visitors made a change by replacing Cameron Green with Todd Murphy in their playing 11.


Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Moeen Ali, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes(c), Jonny Bairstow(w), Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Stuart Broad, James Anderson


David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey(w), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins(c), Josh Hazlewood, Todd Murphy

CHECK: The Ashes Winners List – Including Man of Series Winners Since 1882

Ashes 2023 Toss details for all 5 matches

  • 1st Test – England won the toss
  • 2nd Test – England won the toss
  • 3rd Test – England won the toss
  • 4th Test – England won the toss
  • 5th Test – Australia won the toss
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read