Adelaide Strikers win back-to-back titles in WBBL 2023; Beats Brisbane by three runs

Adelaide Strikers
Adelaide Strikers (image: WBBL)

Adelaide Strikers had won the WBBL finals against Brisbane Heat in a thrilling three-run victory at Adelaide Oval.

Strikers win back-to-back titles in WBBL 2023

Defending champion Adelaide Strikers won the finals of the WBBL 2023 against Brisbane Heat at the Adelaide Oval on Saturday.

Winning the toss, the strikers chose to bat where Adelaide strikers were folded for 125 runs where Laura Wolvaardt scored 39 and Tahlia McGrath scored 38 runs. Brisbane was featuring in the third WBBL finals and had a positive start but their batting order collapsed in the middle overs. McGrath dismissed Mignon du Preez and Luara leaving the heat four down for 62.

Amelia and Charli stood for their side and made a partnership score of 34 runs for the fifth wicket before Megan dismissed Knott for 20 runs. With 20 runs needed in 12 deliveries, Schutt returned to put pressure on Jonassen while conceding seven in the penultimate over.

Bowling the final over, leg-spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington picked up two wickets to record one of their biggest win in a WBBL final. The Strikers are now the fourth team to bag two WBBL finals.

The Strikers are now the fourth team to bag two WBBL titles and the third franchise to successfully defend the title after Brisbane and Sydney Sixers.