HomeCricketNewsAakash Chopra Slams Indian Selection Committee Over Sarfaraz Khan's Omission

Aakash Chopra Slams Indian Selection Committee Over Sarfaraz Khan’s Omission

Former India batter Aakash Chopra slams Indian selection committee for omitting Sarfaraz Khan from the India squad for the West Indies tour.

Aakash Chopra Slams Indian selection committee

The Indian cricket team is scheduled to play 2 Tests, 3 ODIs and 5 T20I matches between July 12 to August 13 in West Indies. As per West Indies vs India 2023 schedule, both teams will lock horns to play the first Test game on July 12 in Windsor Park, Roseau, Dominica.

Ahead of the much-awaited West Indies vs India 2023 series, BCCI announced the squad details yesterday. After the India squad announcement, plenty of chatters flow across the team selection.

Following the India squad announcement, Aakash Chopra questions the Indian selection committee over Sarfaraz’s non-selection for the West Indies tour.

Aakash Chopra
Aakash Chopra

“Will Sarfraz be remembered as someone who scored a mountain of runs in First-Class cricket and still never got an opportunity to play for India?? I really hope that’s not the case. And I hope that what more he needs to do to get picked is communicated to him. Otherwise…the sanctity of first-class cricket (the heart and soul of Indian cricket) will be lost,” Chopra tweeted.

He scored 556 runs in six games at an average of 92.66 in the 2022-23 Ranji Trophy campaign with the help of three centuries. In the 2021-22 Ranji Trophy season, he had 982 runs at an average of 122.75.

In his First Class career, Sarfaraz has scored 3505 runs in 37 first-class matches at an average of 79.65, including 13 centuries. Few players in India’s history of First Class cricket have been as impressed with the bat. Yet, Sarfaraz continues to be snubbed.

India’s Test squad

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini.

India’s ODI squad

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read