HomeCricketMajor League CricketSunil Narine Named As Los Angeles Knight Riders Captain

Sunil Narine Named As Los Angeles Knight Riders Captain

Los Angeles Knight Riders Captain: Los Angeles Knight Riders have named veteran spinner Sunil Narine as their captain for the inaugural MLC 2023 season.

Narine Named As Los Angeles Knight Riders Captain

Los Angeles Knight Riders Captain: According to the MLC 2023 schedule, the first match of the season will be played between Texas Super Kings and LA Knight Riders on July 13 in Grand Prairie Stadium.

Though we have already explained the MLC 2023 ticket price and booking procedure along with the booking link, many global fans might not have access to watch the match at the stadium. For those fans, we have listed the MLC 2023 Live Streaming details to watch the much-awaited tournament from their home comfort.

Narine who represents the parent franchise Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL, with whom he has won two titles has been dragged into their MLC franchise – Los Angeles Knight Riders.

“I’ve always spoken about wanting to represent the Knight Riders wherever they play. We’ve long talked about coming to the United States and I’m glad it’s finally happening. As captain of this side, I am looking forward to the challenge. There are a lot of experienced guys in this team who I can bounce information off, so it will be an exciting time for us,” the Trinidadian cricketer said in a Knight Riders release.

The LAKR squad is made up of a strong set of international players – Narine, Russell, Jason Roy, Spencer Johnson along with the domestic USA players – Ali Khan, Unmukt Chand will be a part of the LA Knight Riders’ MLC 2023 squad.

As per Los Angeles Knight Riders’ MLC 2023 Schedule, they will play their first game against Texas Super Kings on July 13 in Grand Prairie Stadium.

Los Angeles Knight Riders MLC 2023 Squad 

Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Zampa, Rilee Rossouw, Spencer Johnson, Ali Khan, Unmukt Chand, Jaskaran Malhotra, Nitish Kumar, Corne Dry, Ali Sheikh, Saif Badar, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Bhaskar Yadram

Los Angeles Knight Riders Support Staff

Narine will be accompanied by the guidance of head coach Phil Simmons, who was recently named the coach of Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) – the most successful team in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) – and also won the title with Barbados Royals (then Tridents) in 2019.

Check out the Los Angeles Knight Riders Support Staff details below:

  • Head Coach: Phil Simmons
  • Assistant Coach: Ryan Ten Doeschate
  • Bowling Coach: Bharat Arun
  • Strength & Conditioning: Sagar VM
  • Physios: Prasanth Panchada, Ruel Rigsby
  • Analyst: AR Srikkanth
  • Team Manager: Wayne Bentley

MLC Cricket Teams

4 out of six participating teams have the owners of the IPL. Notably, Mumbai and Knight Riders IPL franchises run the MLC Team without any partnership. While Super Kings and Delhi Capitals run with local partnerships.

Following are the details of the MLC Team Owners and partners along with the city and stadium details:

Team Owners City Stadium Capacity
Texas Super Kings Chennai Super Kings,
Anurag Jain,
Ross Perot Jr.
Grand Prairie, Texas Grand Prairie Stadium 7,000
Los Angeles Knight Riders Knight Riders Group Orange County, California Great Park Cricket Stadium (planned) 10,000 (planned)
MI New York Indiawin Sports New York City, New York Marine Park Cricket Stadium (planned) 10,000 (planned)
San Francisco Unicorns Anand Rajaraman,
Venky Harinarayan
Santa Clara, California Santa Clara Fairgrounds Stadium (planned) 15,000 (planned)
Seattle Orcas GMR Group,
Satya Nadell
Seattle, Washington Marymoor Cricket Community Park (planned) 6,000 (planned)
Washington Freedom Sanjay Govil Washington D.C. George Mason Cricket Stadium (planned) 12,000 (planned)


I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read