HomeCricketIPLIPL Team Captains 2024 List For All Teams with Vice Captain

IPL Team Captains 2024 List For All Teams with Vice Captain

IPL Team Captains 2024: Ahead of the Indian Premier League 2024, BCCI planned to host a mini-auction for the tournament in Dubai on December 19.

For IPL 2024 Auction, there are no restrictions on the number of players who can be released or retained. In addition to the purse remaining from the previous auction and the value of the players they release, teams will have an additional INR 5 crore to spend in the auction.

IPL Team Captains 2024

IPL Team Captains 2024: As per a report, IPL teams need to submit the retained and released players list by November 26th. As of the previous season, BCCI allowed franchises to use the “TRADE” option where teams can exchange players between them.

The Captain of the team always plays a crucial role in the team’s victories and defeats. Every franchise will always put all their efforts into grabbing the best captain for their team.

The captain holds the responsibility of leading the team on the right path. A decision from the captain can change the match’s flow at any point of time.

Following are the details of the IPL Teams Captain List for the year 2024 with Head Coach details:

Team Captain Head Coach
Chennai Super Kings Ruturaj Gaikwad Stephen Fleming
Delhi Capitals David Warner Ricky Ponting
Gujarat Titans Shubman Gill Ashish Nehra
Kolkata Knight Riders Nitish Rana Chandrakant Pandit
Lucknow Super Giants KL Rahul Justin Langer
Mumbai Indians Hardik Pandya Mark Boucher
Punjab Kings Shikhar Dhawan Trevor Bayliss
Rajasthan Royals Sanju Samson Kumar Sangakkara
Royal Challengers Bangalore Faf du Plessis Andy Flower
Sunrisers Hyderabad Pat Cummins Daniel Vettori

IPL Team Vice Capains 2024

IPL Team Vice Captains 2024: apart from captains, vice captains will also play some roles in the absence of the team’s captain. Following are the details of the IPL Teams Vice-Captain List for the year 2024:

Team Vice- Captain
Chennai Super Kings Ravindra Jadeja
Delhi Capitals David Warner
Gujarat Titans Rashid Khan
Kolkata Knight Riders Andre Russell
Lucknow Super Giants Nicholas Pooran
Mumbai Indians Jasprit Bumrah
Punjab Kings Sam Curran
Rajasthan Royals Ravichandran Ashwin
Royal Challengers Bangalore Virat Kohli
Sunrisers Hyderabad Bhuvneshwar Kumar

IPL 2024 Format

IPL Team Captains 2024: The format of the IPL 2024 edition will be the same as the previous year. Following are the details of the IPL 2024 Format:

  • The ten teams will be divided into two groups of five.
  • A random draw was used to determine the groups and who plays whom across the groups once and twice.
  • In the group stage, each team plays 14 games facing the other four teams in their group two times each (one home and one away game), four teams in the other group once, and the remaining team two times.
  • IPL Points Table system: The team winning a match will be awarded 2 points. The losing team will not receive any points. In case of a draw or no result, both teams will be awarded 1 point.
  • A four-game playoff stage following the Page playoff system is held after the group stage. Four games will be played in the playoffs:
      • Qualifier 1: between the teams ranked first and second in the group stage.
      • Eliminator: between the teams ranked third and fourth in the group stage.
      • Qualifier 2: between the loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of the Eliminator.
      • Final: between the winners of Qualifiers 1 and 2.

IPL 2024 Rules

IPL Team Captains 2024: BCCI introduced the Impact Player Rule in the IPL 2023 season and brought up a major change in IPL history. Apart from this, the tournament will follow the last edition’s rules. Following are the details of the IPL 2024 rules:

  • Indian Premier League will follow the same set of technical rules as of the T20 International format set by ICC.
  • IPL games incorporate television timeouts. Each team is given a two-and-a-half-minute “strategic time-out” during each inning.
    • One must be taken by the bowling team between the seventh and ninth overs and the other by the batting team between the 14th and 16th overs.
    • A penalty may be imposed if umpires find teams misusing this privilege.
  • Since the 2018 season, the Decision Review System (DRS) has been used in all IPL matches, allowing each team two opportunities in each innings to review an on-field umpire’s decision.
    • From the 2023 season, this was extended to allow the review of wide ad no-balls.
  • If the bowling team does not complete its overs in the allocated time, it may place only four fielders outside of the fielding restrictions circle for the remainder of the innings, or the match referee may impose financial sanctions on the bowling team after the match, with players fined a proportion of their match fee.
  • Teams can use a substitute, termed an “impact player”, from a list of five players named as possible substitutes.
    • The substitution can be made before the start of the innings, when a wicket falls when a batter retires or at the end of an over. Both teams can introduce a substitute once per match.
  • A 5-run penalty will imposed if a fielder or wicket-keeper makes an unfair movement while the bowler is bowling and the ball is designated as a dead ball.
  • Upon a catch dismissal, irrespective of whether the batsmen have crossed or not the incoming batsman will take the strike, except if it’s the last ball of the over.
  • Teams can include a maximum of four overseas players in their playing eleven
  • Teams must include 15 players in their squad, with a maximum of eight overseas players.
  • In Playoffs/Final: If Super Over or subsequent Super Overs can’t be completed due to some reason then the team that has finished higher in the league will be declared as the winner.

What is Impact Player Rule

  • Impact Player can only be an Indian player unless there are less than 4 overseas players in the Playing XI.
  • Only an overseas player who is part of 4 substitutes named in the team sheet can be used as an Impact Player. If a team introduces an overseas player as an Impact Player in a match, in no circumstance can a 5th overseas player take the field.
  • Teams need to pick 4 substitutes along with the playing X1 during toss time & out of 4, only one can be used as an impact player.
  • The captain will nominate the Impact Player
  • Impact Player can be introduced before the start of the innings, or after the completion of the over, or after the fall of a wicket or after the batter retires anytime during the over.
  • A Player who is replaced by an Impact Player (“Replaced Player”) can no longer take part in the remainder of the match and is also not permitted to return as a substitute fielder.
  • The BCCI confirms that an Impact Player cannot act as a captain.
  • An Impact Player can come in place of a retired batter who will be allowed to come later if need be.
  • Both teams are allowed to use one Impact Player per match. It is, however, not compulsory. It is up to teams whether they want to use the Impact Player or not.
  • If a player gets injured while fielding mid-over, he can no longer take part in the match if the team introduces Impact Player to replace him.
  • In case of an injury to the impact player during the match, a substitute fielder is allowed to field in place of an injured player only if umpires are satisfied.
  • The substitute shall not bowl or act as captain.
  • Penalty time for the batting and fielding teams will apply to the player off the field for the substitute as per the playing conditions.
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read