HomeCricketIPLList of Players Withdraw From IPL 2024, Ruled Out Included

List of Players Withdraw From IPL 2024, Ruled Out Included

Players Withdraw From IPL 2024: The 17th edition of the Indian Premier League will play in home and away format where teams will play their home matches at their designated stadium across India.

Ahead of the IPL 2024, BCCI hosted the IPL 2024 Auction in Dubai on December 19 while November 26 was set as the deadline for the teams to finalise their retention and released players list. Notably, this will be the first time an IPL auction is conducted overseas.

As of the previous season, BCCI allowed franchises to use the “TRADE” option where teams can exchange players between them. BCCI introduced two new rules for the 2024 season along with the Smart Replay System.

Players Withdraw from IPL 2024

Players Withdraw from IPL 2024: As per IPL 2024 Schedule, the first match will be played between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bengaluru on March 22 in Chennai.

But ahead of the IPL 2024 tournament, some players may opt-out or ruled out of the tournament owing to various reasons. The franchise will name a replacement player for the withdrawn player if needed or will prefer to continue to play with the remaining squad.

Such players’ names and reasons for their decisions will be updated here, stay tuned and refresh for regular updates!!!

Following are the details of the Players Withdraw from IPL 2024:

Player Team Reason Replacement Player
Mark Wood LSG Work Load Shamar Joseph
Gus Atkinson KKR TBA Dushmantha Chameera
Mohammed Shami GT Ankle Injury Sandeep Warrier
Devon Conway CSK Thumb Injury TBA
Jason Roy KKR Personal Reason Phil Salt
Harry Brook DC Personal Reason TBA
Lungi Ngidi DC Injury Jake Fraser-McGurk
Matheesha Pathirana CSK Injury TBA
Jason Behrendorff MI Injury Luke Wood
Dilshan Madushanka MI Injury Kwena Maphaka
Prasidh Krishna RR Quadriceps surgery Keshav Maharaj
Adam Zampa RR Personal Reason Tanush Kotian
Robin Minz GT Injury B R Sharath
Mujeeb Ur Rahman KKR Injury Allah Ghazanfar

IPL 2024 Format

The format of the IPL 2024 edition will be the same as the previous year. Following are the details of the IPL 2024 Format:

  • The ten teams will be divided into two groups of five.
  • A random draw was used to determine the groups and who plays whom across the groups once and twice.
  • In the group stage, each team plays 14 games facing the other four teams in their group two times each (one home and one away game), four teams in the other group once, and the remaining team two times.
  • IPL Points Table system: The team winning a match will be awarded 2 points. The losing team will not receive any points. In case of a draw or no result, both teams will be awarded 1 point.
  • A four-game playoff stage following the Page playoff system is held after the group stage. Four games will be played in the playoffs:
      • Qualifier 1: between the teams ranked first and second in the group stage.
      • Eliminator: between the teams ranked third and fourth in the group stage.
      • Qualifier 2: between the loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of the Eliminator.
      • Final: between the winners of Qualifiers 1 and 2.

IPL 2024 Team Captains

Following are the details of the captains of the Indian Premier League 2024 for all 10 participating teams.

Team Captain Head Coach
Chennai Super Kings Ruturaj Gaikwad Stephen Fleming
Delhi Capitals Rishabh Pant Ricky Ponting
Gujarat Titans Shubman Gill Ashish Nehra
Kolkata Knight Riders Shreyas Iyer Chandrakant Pandit
Lucknow Super Giants KL Rahul Justin Langer
Mumbai Indians Hardik Pandya Mark Boucher
Punjab Kings Shikhar Dhawan Trevor Bayliss
Rajasthan Royals Sanju Samson Kumar Sangakkara
Royal Challengers Bengaluru Faf du Plessis Andy Flower
Sunrisers Hyderabad Pat Cummins Daniel Vettori
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read