BBL Winners List All Season, Player of the Match, Series – Included

BBL Winners List All Season
BBL Winners List All Season

BBL Winners List All Season – Year-Wise: Big Bash League is one of the two T20 cricket leagues, alongside the Indian Premier League, to feature amongst the top ten domestic sports leagues in average attendance.

There are a total of eight teams in the League representing six cities. All teams will be involved in a double round-robin stage, which means that each team will play every other team twice, once at home and once away.

BBL Format

The BBL playoffs will be similar to the grand Indian Premier League, with a little addition. The tournament allows the fifth team on the Big Bash League standings to participate in the knockout stages as well.

BBL Trophy
KFC BBL Trophy

The Eliminator will see the fourth and fifth-placed teams fight it out. There will be two Qualifiers which will see the first two teams try to get to the final quickly.

The second one will see the third-placed team play the winner of the Eliminator. It will be followed by the ‘Challenger’ which will see the loser of the Qualifier play against the winner of the second Qualifier to find a place in the Final.

Therefore, the primary aim of all teams will be to find a place in the top 5 of the Big Bash points table and get a place in the playoffs.

  • The Eliminator (Elimination Final)- Fourth v Fifth
  • The Qualifier (Second Semi-Final)- First v Second
  • The Knock-Out (First Semi-Final)- Third v Winner of The Eliminator
  • The Challenger (Preliminary Final)- Loser of The Qualifier v Winner of The Knock-Out
  • The Final (Grand Final)- Winner of The Qualifier v Winner of The Challenger

In order to give BBL, a boost Cricket Australia has introduced three new rules—Power Surge, X-Factor Player, and the Bash Boost—in the 2020 edition

BBL Winners List All Season

BBL Winners List All Season: Out of the eight teams in the League, six teams have been crowned Big Bash league winners at least once.

Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in the league, having won the BBL title five times, two of which were in consecutive seasons.

Sydney Sixers
Sydney Sixers

Perth Scorchers has made the most number of appearances in the final, a total of eight, four of which were consecutive, in the 12 seasons of the League.

Melbourne Stars have been the runners-up thrice, first in 2015-16, 2018-19, and then again in 2019-20.

Season Winner Runner-up Final venue Player of the Match Player of the Series
2022-23 Perth Scorchers Brisbane Heat Perth Ashton Turner(Perth Scorchers) Matthew Short(Adelaide Strikers)
2021-22 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Melbourne Laurie Evans(Perth Scorchers) Ben McDermott(Hobart Hurricanes)
2020–21 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers SCG James Vince (Sydney Sixers) Josh Philippe(Sydney Sixers)
2019–20 Sydney Sixers Melbourne Stars SCG Josh Philippe(Sydney Sixers) Marcus Stoinis(Melbourne Stars)
2018–19 Melbourne Renegades Melbourne Stars Docklands Stadium Dan Christian(Melbourne Renegades) D Arcy Short(Hobart Hurricanes)
2017–18 Adelaide Strikers Hobart Hurricanes Adelaide Oval Jake Weatherald(Adelaide Strikers) D’Arcy Short(Hobart Hurricanes)
2016–17 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers WACA Ground Jhye Richardson(Perth Scorchers) Chris Lynn(Brisbane Heat)
2015–16 Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars MCG Usman Khawaja(Sydney Thunder) Chris Lynn(Brisbane Heat)
2014–15 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Manuka Oval Shaun Marsh(Perth Scorchers) Jacques Kallis(Sydney Thunder)
2013–14 Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes WACA Ground Brad Hogg(Perth Scorchers) Ben Dunk(Hobart Hurricanes)
2012–13 Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers WACA Ground Nathan Hauritz(Brisbane Heat) Aaron Finch(Melbourne Renegades)
2011–12 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground Moises Henriques(Sydney Sixers) David Hussey(Melbourne Stars)

Wooden spoons

The wooden spoon in Big Bash League is an imaginary and ironic “award” which is said to be won by the team finishing in last place in the Big Bash League.

Team Total Wooden Spoon Season(s)
Sydney Thunder 4 2011–12, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2016–17
Melbourne Renegades 3 2019–20, 2020–21, 2021–22
Melbourne Stars 2 2017–18, 2022-23
Brisbane Heat 1 2014–15
Sydney Sixers 1 2015–16
Perth Scorchers 1 2018–19
Adelaide Strikers 0
Hobart Hurricanes 0

BBL Captains

Following are the details of the captains and coaches of all 8 teams of Men’s Big Bash League:

Team Name Captain Coach
Adelaide Strikers Travis Head
Jason Gillespie
Brisbane Heat Usman Khawaja Wade Seccombe
Hobart Hurricanes Matthew Wade Adam Griffith
Melbourne Renegades Nic Maddinson David Saker
Melbourne Stars Adam Zampa David Hussey
Perth Scorchers Ashton Turner Adam Voges
Sydney Sixers Moises Henriques Greg Shipperd
Sydney Thunders Jason Sangha Trevor Bayliss