HomeCricketBBLBBL 2022 Qualified Teams For Playoffs – Semi-Final

BBL 2022 Qualified Teams For Playoffs – Semi-Final [Updated]

BBL 2022 Qualified Teams For Playoffs: Though 8 teams participate in the tournament only the top 5 teams of the BBL 2022 Points table will get the chance to lay their hands on the trophy.

BBL rules allow a total of 5 teams to qualify for the playoff round where BBL hosts four stages of the match before the final match namely The Qualifier, The Eliminator, The Knockout, The Challenger.

BBL 2022 Qualified Teams For Playoffs

  • The EliminatorAdelaide Strikers(W) vs Hobart Hurricanes
  • The Qualifier Perth Scorchers(W) vs Sydney Sixers
  • The Knock-Out – Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers(W)
  • The ChallengerSydney Sixers(W) vs Adelaide Strikers
  • The FinalPerth Scorchers(W) vs Sydney Sixers

Check out the updated BBL 2021-22 playoff qualified teams details below:

Position Teams Status
1 Perth Scorchers Winner
2 Sydney Sixers Finals Qualified
3 Sydney Thunder Eliminated in Knock-Out
Adelaide Strikers
Eliminated in Challenger
Hobart Hurricanes
Eliminated in Eliminator round
6 Melbourne Stars Eliminated
7 Brisbane Heat Eliminated
Melbourne Renegades

BBL Format

The BBL playoffs will be similar to the grand Indian Premier League, with a little addition. The tournament allows the fifth team on the Big Bash League standings to participate in the knockout stages as well.

BBL Trophy
KFC BBL Trophy

The Eliminator will see the fourth and fifth-placed teams fight it out. There will be two Qualifiers which will see the first two teams try to get to the final quickly.

The second one will see the third-placed team play the winner of the Eliminator. It will be followed by the ‘Challenger’ which will see the loser of the Qualifier play against the winner of the second Qualifier to find a place in the Final.

Therefore, the primary aim of all teams will be to find a place in the top 5 of the Big Bash points table and get a place in the playoffs.

  • The Eliminator (Elimination Final)- Fourth v Fifth
  • The Qualifier (Second Semi-Final)- First v Second
  • The Knock-Out (First Semi-Final)- Third v Winner of The Eliminator
  • The Challenger (Preliminary Final)- Loser of The Qualifier v Winner of The Knock-Out
  • The Final (Grand Final)- Winner of The Qualifier v Winner of The Challenger

In order to give BBL, a boost Cricket Australia has introduced three new rules—Power Surge, X-Factor Player, and the Bash Boost—in the 2020 edition.

BBL Points table 2021 – 2022

*BBL 2021-2022 Points table will be updated here right after every match. Check out the BBL 2021-22 schedule. 

As per BBL 2021-22 Schedule, the first match is set to kick start on December 05, 2021

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied NR Pts NRR
Perth Scorchers 14 11 3 0 0 40 0.926
Sydney Sixers 14 9 4 0 1 35 1.027
Sydney Thunder 14 9 5 0 0 35 0.725
Adelaide Strikers 14 6 8 0 0 28 0.237
Hobart Hurricanes 14 7 7 0 0 27 -0.332
Melbourne Stars 14 7 7 0 0 26 -0.222
Brisbane Heat 14 3 11 0 0 16 -0.91
Melbourne Renegades 14 3 10 0 1 16 -1.477


BBL Winners List All Season

BBL Winners List All Season: Out of the eight teams in the League, six teams have been crowned Big Bash league winners at least once.

Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers are the most successful teams in the league, having won the BBL title three times, two of which were in consecutive seasons.

Sydney Sixers
Sydney Sixers

Perth Scorchers has made the most number of appearances in the final, a total of six, four of which were consecutive, in the ten seasons of the League.

Melbourne Stars have been the runners-up thrice, first in 2015-16, 2018-19, and then again in 2019-20.

Season Winner Runner-up Final venue Player of the Match
Player of the Series
2011–12 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground Moises Henriques(Sydney Sixers)
David Hussey(Melbourne Stars)
2012–13 Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers WACA Ground Nathan Hauritz(Brisbane Heat) Aaron Finch(Melbourne Renegades)
2013–14 Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes WACA Ground Brad Hogg(Perth Scorchers) Ben Dunk(Hobart Hurricanes)
2014–15 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Manuka Oval Shaun Marsh(Perth Scorchers) Jacques Kallis(Sydney Thunder)
2015–16 Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars MCG Usman Khawaja(Sydney Thunder) Chris Lynn(Brisbane Heat)
2016–17 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers WACA Ground Jhye Richardson(Perth Scorchers) Chris Lynn(Brisbane Heat)
2017–18 Adelaide Strikers Hobart Hurricanes Adelaide Oval Jake Weatherald(Adelaide Strikers) D’Arcy Short(Hobart Hurricanes)
2018–19 Melbourne Renegades Melbourne Stars
Docklands Stadium
Dan Christian(Melbourne Renegades) D Arcy Short(Hobart Hurricanes)
2019–20 Sydney Sixers Melbourne Stars SCG Josh Philippe(Sydney Sixers) Marcus Stoinis(Melbourne Stars)
2020–21 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers SCG James Vince (Sydney Sixers) Josh Philippe(Sydney Sixers)
2021-22 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Melbourne Laurie Evans(Perth Scorchers) TBD

TBD – To Be Declare

Wooden spoons

The wooden spoon in Big Bash League is an imaginary and ironic “award” which is said to be won by the team finishing in last place in the Big Bash League.

Team Total
Wooden Spoon Season(s)
Sydney Thunder 4
2011–12, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2016–17
Melbourne Renegades 2
2019–20, 2020–21
Brisbane Heat 1 2014–15
Sydney Sixers 1 2015–16
Melbourne Stars 1 2017–18
Perth Scorchers 1 2018–19
Adelaide Strikers 0
Hobart Hurricanes 0


Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read