HomeCricket2022 Indian Premier League Mega Auction Schedule and Updates

2022 Indian Premier League Mega Auction Schedule and Updates

The 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is an event that cricket fans around the world are looking forward to witnessing. It will be an interesting season because, for the first time in quite a while, the IPL will be a ten-team affair with Ahmedabad and Lucknow as the new teams to participate. While the official schedule of the 2022 IPL has not yet been released, there’s still one more vent that fans and everyone in the cricket industry are excited to see.

The IPL Mega Auction is when everyone gets to know which players are retained and will be acquired by new teams in the league. Since the IPL 2022 will be different from the previous seasons, the mega auction will also be interesting to see. It’s also important to fans who are into cricket betting in India and elsewhere because they get a glimpse of which squads will have great players in the upcoming season.

The wait is not yet over but at least we already know when the mega auction will be and have more details about it too. The auction will be a two-day event happening on February 12 and 13 in Bengaluru. This detail is not yet officially announced but trusted cricket news sources like Cricbuzz and ESPNcricinfo have both confirmed that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has already notified all IPL franchises regarding these dates.

2022 Indian Premier League
IPL 2022 Mega Auction

BCCI Decides the Auction Will Continue Despite Certain Circumstances

Based on reports, the BCCI also insisted that this schedule is final even if there will be an international game happening on these dates which is an ODI match between India and West Indies. This match is scheduled for February 12 in Kolkata but the BCCI said that it will have no bearing on the auction and plans will continue as intended.

A franchise official spoke to Cricbuzz about the schedule conflict and said, “It has been clarified to us that the match and auction are two different things and both will go ahead.” That completely makes sense. However, people are wondering how it will affect the match’s and the auction’s live broadcasts which concern Star Sports. So far, the broadcasting company hasn’t spoken about this yet.

The IPL officials have also let the franchises know that there will be a formal pre-auction briefing just like the previous auctions. This will be held the day before the auction itself start and this is why the franchise officials are asked to be in Bangalore a day earlier than the event.

What We Know So Far

Even before the Mega Auction itself, a lot has already happened that has something to do with the 2022 IPL. First was the auction for the two new teams which was participated by 10 groups and businesses. Two companies ended up winning the bids for the teams in October which are RPSG Group (Lucknow) and CVC Capital (Ahmedabad).

Since the new team auction, we also got to already know which players will be retained by the eight teams keeping in mind the new retention guidelines. Here’s the complete list of players retained by the eight teams and how much they spent on them.

IPL 2022 Auction
IPL 2022 Auction

Chennai Super Kings

  • Ravindra Jadeja – Rs 16 crore
  • MS Dhoni – Rs 12 crore
  • Moeen Ali – Rs 8 crore
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad – Rs 6 crore

Mumbai Indians

  • Rohit Sharma – Rs 16 crore
  • Jasprit Bumrah – Rs 12 crore
  • Suryakumar Yadav – Rs 8 crore
  • Kieron Pollard – Rs 6 crore

Delhi Capitals

  • Rishabh Pant – Rs 16 crore
  • Axar Patel – Rs 12 crore
  • Prithvi Shaw – Rs 8 crore
  • Anrich Nortje – Rs 6 crore

Sunrisers Hyderabad

  • Kane Williamson – Rs 14 crore
  • Abdul Samad – Rs 4 crore
  • Umran Malik – Rs 4 crore

Royal Challengers Bangalore

  • Virat Kohli – Rs 15 crore
  • Glenn Maxwell – Rs 11 crore
  • Mohammed Siraj – Rs 7 crore

Punjab Kings

  • Mayank Agarwal – Rs 12 crore
  • Arshdeep Singh – Rs 4 crore

Kolkata Knight Riders

  • Andre Russell – Rs 12 crore
  • Varun Chakravarty – Rs 8 crore
  • Venkatesh Iyer – Rs 8 crore
  • Sunil Narine – Rs 6 crore

Rajasthan Royals

  • Sanju Samson – Rs 14 crore
  • Jos Buttler – Rs 10 crore
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal – Rs 4 crore

Meanwhile, the two new teams were initially expected to submit the list of players who they would like to acquire by December 25. However, this deadline has been extended until an unknown date just yet. Sources say that the full player list for the auction is expected to be finalized by mid-January which means that the new teams should already have sent their list by then.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read