ISL Points Table 2021/2022 With Points Table Rules, Records List

ISL Points Table 2021/2022
ISL 2021 Points Table Rules

Table of Contents

Hero ISL Points Table 2021/2022 – The Indian Super League (ISL) is a men’s professional football league, which is one of two co-existing top-tier leagues in the Indian football system.

It is organized by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) and their commercial partners Football Sports Development Limited (FSDL). For sponsorship ties with Hero MotoCorp, it is officially called Hero Indian Super League.

The competition was founded on 21 October 2013 with the aim of growing the sport of football in India and increasing its exposure in the country. The league began in October 2014 with eight teams.

During its first three seasons, the competition operated without official recognition from the Asian Football Confederation (AFC), the governing body for the sport in Asia. The competition was also structured along the same lines as the Indian Premier League, the country’s premier Twenty20 franchise-based cricket competition.

Each season lasted just 3 months, from October to December, and matches were held daily. However, before the 2017–18 season, the league expanded to ten teams, expanded its schedule to six months, and earned recognition from the AFC.

The league winners participate directly in the AFC Champions League and the ISL Final winner participates in the AFC Cup qualifying-playoffs

ISL Points Table 2021/2022

3ATK Mohun Bagan2010731137
5Mumbai City20947531
10Northeast Utd203512-1814
11East Bengal201811-1811

ISL Points Table 2021/2022 Rules

The teams competing in the ISL have a basic aim in the league stages to qualify in the top four teams in the points table as they get into the playoffs while the rest get eliminated for the season. However, there are a few rules that decide how the teams are ranked in the ISL Points Table. Here are the rules:

  • A team gets 3 points for a win
  • Both teams get 1 point for a draw
  • A team earns no points for a loss

If two or more teams end up on the same number of points, they are separated by the following criteria (next criteria is chosen if the previous one cannot separate the concerned teams)

  • The team with more points in matches between the concerned clubs in the league stage stays higher
  • The team with a better goal difference in matches between the concerned clubs in the league stage stays higher
  • The team with more goals in matches between the concerned clubs in the league stage stays higher
  • The team with a better goal difference in the league stage stays higher
  • The team with more goals in the league stage stays higher
  • The team with a higher fair play ranking stays higher
  • Lots are drawn by the league

ISL Winners List

Since the league’s inaugural season, a total of four clubs have been crowned as the Champions: ATK (3), Chennaiyin (2), Bengaluru (1), and Mumbai City (1). Since its introduction in the 2019–20 season, both Goa and Mumbai City won the League Winners Shield once.

SeasonChampionsRunners Up
2020-21Mumbai City FCATK Mohun Bagan
2019-20Atlético de KolkataChennaiyin FC
2018-19Bengaluru FCFC Goa
2017-18Chennaiyin FCBengaluru FC
2016-17Atlético de KolkataKerala Blasters
2015-16Chennaiyin FCFC Goa
2014-15Atlético de KolkataKerala Blasters


ISL Golden Boot Award

ISL Golden Boot Award will be awarded to the leading goal scorer in the Indian Super League. Following are the details of the ISL Golden Boot Award winners since 2014 edition:

SeasonGolden boot
2020-21Igor Angulo
2019-20Nerijus Valskis
2015-16Stiven Mendoza


ISL Emerging Player

The ISL Emerging Player award is an annual award given to the best young Indian player in that seasons’ Indian Super League (ISL) campaign. Following are the details of the ISL Emerging Player winners list:

Emerging Player
2019-20Sumit Rathi
Sahal Abdul Samad
2016-17Jerry Lalrinzuala
2015-16Jeje Lalpekhlua
Sandesh Jhingan


ISL Hero of the League

ISL Hero of the League is an annual award given to the best player during an Indian Super League (ISL) season. The winner is presented with a Golden Ball. Following are the details of the ISL Hero of the League winners list:

Hero of the League
2020-21Roy Krishna
2019-20Hugo Boumous
2017-18Sunil Chhetri
2016-17Florent Malouda
2015-16Stiven Mendoza
2014-15Iain Hume


ISL Trophy 

The Indian Super League trophy was unveiled on 5 October 2014, by Nita Ambani, the founder and chairperson of Football Sports Development.

At the trophy unveiling occasion, Mrs. Ambani said, “It’s a momentous day for all of us today as I stand along with the world’s footballing legends to unveil the pride of Indian Super League. As these role models have inspired hundreds of thousands of players worldwide, I am sure the ISL trophy will also stand as a symbol of aspiration for many youngsters in an emergent India”.

Designed by Frazer and Haws, the trophy stands 26 inches tall. The logo on the top band has the ISL colors assigned to it and the handles are ornately carved and embellished with 24 carats gold gilt to imbue a sense of pride when held up.

How to Watch ISL?

The main broadcaster in India and the Indian subcontinent is Star Sports on television.

Hotstar and JioTV are official streaming partners in India and the Indian subcontinent. The live coverage of the 2020-21 season of the ISL was available in more than 80 territories across the world.

FSDL on 25 November 2021, announced a worldwide partnership with German football media company, OneFootball to broadcast the Indian Super League (ISL) in over 200 countries across the globe (excluding the Indian Subcontinent).

Also read: Lionel Messi Records Including World, European, Spanish Records