HomeCricketRuturaj Gaikwad Named as New CSK Captain ahead of IPL 2024

Ruturaj Gaikwad Named as New CSK Captain ahead of IPL 2024

Chennai Super Kings has appointed Ruturaj Gaikwad as the captain with MS Dhoni stepping down as the skipper ahead of the IPL 2024 season.

Ruturaj Gaikwad Named as New CSK Captain

The legendary captain MS Dhoni has stepped down as the CSK skipper before the start of IPL 2024. CSK has won five titles under the captaincy of Dhoni.

The decision comes before a day of commencement of IPL 2024 where CSK will be playing in the first match of the campaign against RCB.

The 27-year-old Ruturaj Gaikwad who made his IPL debut in 2020 has quickly made a name in the franchise. He was retained by the franchise during the 2022 season for INR 6 crores.

He has played 52 IPL matches and amassed 1797 runs with a high score of 101* runs at an average of 39.07.

On the other hand, MS Dhoni has made his international retirement on August 15, 2020. He led India to clinch three ICC trophies of T20 World Cup in 2007, the ODI World Cup in 2011, and the Champions Trophy in 2013.

Dhoni is one of the most successful IPL captains as CSK has 133 wins followed by Rohit Sharma with 87 wins. Ruturaj Will be leading Chennai Super Kings during the first match of the IPL 2024 season against Royal Challengers Bangalore on March 22.

The IPL 2024 opening ceremony takes place before the start of the high-stakes match between CSK and RCB at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read