HomeCricketNewsAustralia registers 1000th ODI match; Second Team to achieve feat after India

Australia registers 1000th ODI match; Second Team to achieve feat after India

With set to play in the third ODI match of the West Indies tour of Australia 2024, the hosts set to play their 1000th ODI match.

Australia registers 1000th ODI match

Completing 999 ODI matches, Australia has 608 victories, with 348 defeats and 9 Ties. 34 matches ended with no result. Australia played their first ODI match against England at Melbourne Cricket Ground in 1971 where the hosts won the match by 5 wickets.

Since then, Australia has played across various formats of games and remained one of the powerhouses of the game. The Australian side has a strong history after claiming six titles in the World Cup tournament.

To be noted they have made 8 appearances in the finals of the tournament where they suffered defeat in a couple of games. They recently won the ODI World Cup 2023 in the Indian soil.

Australia is the only team to appear in four consecutive World Cup finals in 1996, 1999, 2003, and 2007 surpassing the old record of West Indies who appeared in three consecutive finals. They are the only team to have consecutive wins in three World Cups.

Australia leads the series 2-0 against West Indies and they are currently playing in the third match where Australia chose to bowl.

Batting first, West Indies started their innings and looking to register victory after suffering two defeats in Australia. But they suffered early dismissals which collapsed the batting lineup of Visitors.

West Indies lost four wickets for 44 runs in the 13th over. Alick Athanaze stood firm on the ground and scored a double-digit score. Lance Morris and Xavier Bartlett dismissed two batters each at the time of writing.

West Indies had named Teddy Bishop for his international debut replacing Justin Greaves who has a hamstring niggle that he suffered during the first ODI match.

Australia squad

Steve Smith (c), Travis Head (vc), Sean Abbott, Xavier Bartlett, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Lance Morris, Matt Short, Will Sutherland, Adam Zampa

West Indies squad

Shai Hope (c), Alzarri Joseph, Alick Athanaze, Teddy Bishop, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Justin Greaves, Kavem Hodge, Tevin Imlach, Gudakesh Motie, Kjorn Ottley, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read