HomeWinners List of “Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World Award”

Winners List of “Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World Award”

The Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World is an annual cricket award selected by Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack to honor the cricketer based upon their performances anywhere in the world in the previous calendar year.

  • It was established in 2004.
  • Since 1889, Wisden has published a list of Cricketers of the Year, typically selecting five cricketers that had the greatest impact during the previous English cricket season.
  • In the 2000 edition, the editor Matthew Engel recognized that the best players in the world were typically no longer playing English domestic cricket, and opted to select the Cricketers of the Year based on their performances anywhere in the world.
  • This criterion was applied for the following three years, but in 2004 it reverted to being based on the English season, and a Leading Cricketer in the World was also selected.
  • An Australian, Ricky Ponting was chosen as the first winner of the award, for scoring 1,503 runs in international cricket, including eleven centuries during 2003.
  • The recipient of the award is selected by the editor of Wisden, with advice from cricket experts.

Wisden Leading Cricketer in World Award Winners list 

Following are the list of Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World Award Winners since its established year(2004).

Note that each year’s Leading Cricketer of the World is announced in the following year’s Wisden, so the 2003 winner was announced in 2004, and so on.

Wisden Leading Men Cricketer in the World

Indian cricketer Virat Kohli is the first and only player to bag the award for three continuous years.

Year Player Country
2003 Ricky Ponting Australia
2004 Shane Warne Australia
2005 Andrew Flintoff England
2006 Muttiah Muralitharan Sri Lanka
2007 Jacques Kallis South Africa
2008 Virender Sehwag India
2009 Virender Sehwag India
2010 Sachin Tendulkar India
2011 Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka
2012 Michael Clarke Australia
2013 Dale Steyn South Africa
2014 Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka
2015 Kane Williamson New Zealand
2016 Virat Kohli India
2017 Virat Kohli India
2018 Virat Kohli India
2019 Ben Stokes England
2020 Ben Stokes England
2021 Joe Root England
2022 Ben Stokes England
2023 Pat Cummins Australia

Wisden Leading Woman Cricketer in the World

Australia’s Meg Lanning is the first cricketer to bag the Wisden Leading Woman Cricketer in the World award.

Year Winner Nationality
2014 Meg Lanning Australia
2015 Suzie Bates New Zealand
2016 Ellyse Perry Australia
2017 Mithali Raj India
2018 Smriti Mandhana India
2019 Ellyse Perry Australia
2020 Beth Mooney Australia
2021 Lizelle Lee South Africa
2022 Beth Mooney Australia
2023 Nat Sciver-Brunt England

Notional list

A notional list of previous winners, spanning from 1900 to 2002, was published in the 2007 edition of Wisden.

  • In the 2007 edition of Wisden, a list of winners for previous years was published.
  • A sixteen-person panel helped to select the winners, which Engel described as the cricketer that “would have been the first name down in the World XI to play Mars”.
  • It was decided that the first year that would be listed was 1900, as prior to that Engel claimed international cricket was too “inchoate and haphazard to make comparison sensible”
  • No players were named for the Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World Award in 1916 or 1917, as the First World War prevented any first-class cricket being played in England, while in 1918 and 1919 the recipients were five schoolboy cricketers.
  • From 1941 to 1946, the Second World War caused the same issue and no players were named for the Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World Award.
Year Player Country
1900 K. S. Ranjitsinhji  England
1901 C. B. Fry  England
1902 Victor Trumper  Australia
1903 C. B. Fry  England
1904 Bernard Bosanquet  England
1905 Stanley Jackson  England
1906 George Hirst  England
1907 Bert Vogler  South Africa
1908 Monty Noble  Australia
1909 Wilfred Rhodes  England
1910 Aubrey Faulkner  South Africa
1911 Victor Trumper  Australia
1912 Sydney Barnes  England
1913 Sydney Barnes  England
1914 Jack Hobbs  England
1915–18 Not awarded due to World War I
1919 Jack Gregory  Australia
1920 Herbie Collins  Australia
1921 Charlie Macartney  Australia
1922 Jack Hobbs  England
1923 Patsy Hendren  England
1924 Maurice Tate  England
1925 Jack Hobbs  England
1926 Charlie Macartney  Australia
1927 Bill Ponsford  Australia
1928 Tich Freeman  England
1929 Wally Hammond  England
1930 Don Bradman  Australia
1931 Don Bradman  Australia
1932 Don Bradman  Australia
1933 Harold Larwood  England
1934 Don Bradman  Australia
1935 Stan McCabe  Australia
1936 Don Bradman  Australia
1937 Don Bradman  Australia
1938 Don Bradman  Australia
1939 Don Bradman  Australia
1940–45 Not awarded due to World War II
1946 Don Bradman  Australia
1947 Denis Compton  England
1948 Don Bradman  Australia
1949 Len Hutton  England
1950 Frank Worrell  West Indies
1951 Keith Miller  Australia
1952 Len Hutton  England
1953 Alec Bedser  England
1954 Clyde Walcott  West Indies
1955 Frank Tyson  England
1956 Jim Laker  England
1957 Peter May  England
1958 Garfield Sobers  West Indies
1959 Richie Benaud  Australia
1960 Garfield Sobers  West Indies
1961 Alan Davidson  Australia
1962 Garfield Sobers  West Indies
1963 Fred Trueman  England
1964 Garfield Sobers  West Indies
1965 Garfield Sobers  West Indies
1966 Garfield Sobers  West Indies
1967 Graeme Pollock  South Africa
1968 Garfield Sobers  West Indies
1969 Graeme Pollock  South Africa
1970 Garfield Sobers  West Indies
1971 Mike Procter  South Africa
1972 Dennis Lillee  Australia
1973 Barry Richards  South Africa
1974 Jeff Thomson  Australia
1975 Clive Lloyd  West Indies
1976 Viv Richards  West Indies
1977 Dennis Lillee  Australia
1978 Viv Richards  West Indies
1979 Greg Chappell  Australia
1980 Viv Richards  West Indies
1981 Ian Botham  England
1982 Imran Khan  Pakistan
1983 Kapil Dev  India
1984 Joel Garner  West Indies
1985 Richard Hadlee  New Zealand
1986 Malcolm Marshall  West Indies
1987 Martin Crowe  New Zealand
1988 Malcolm Marshall  West Indies
1989 Allan Border  Australia
1990 Graham Gooch  England
1991 Curtly Ambrose  West Indies
1992 Wasim Akram  Pakistan
1993 Shane Warne  Australia
1994 Brian Lara  West Indies
1995 Brian Lara  West Indies
1996 Sanath Jayasuriya  Sri Lanka
1997 Shane Warne  Australia
1998 Sachin Tendulkar  India
1999 Steve Waugh  Australia
2000 Muttiah Muralitharan  Sri Lanka
2001 Glenn McGrath  Australia
2002 Matthew Hayden  Australia


Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read