IPL Winners List All Season Since 2008 With Runner up Details

IPL winners list since 2008

Apart from the mainstream cricket tournaments, the Indian Premier League or better known as IPL has become quite popular not just in India but also in many other countries across the world. Every franchise and their captains take pride to be part of IPL Winners List at least once.

BCCI announced the launch of IPL in the year 2007 and the first season took place in the year 2008. Since the very first season of IPL itself, it has made an impressive space in the hearts of cricket lovers.

The IPL is known as one of the biggest among different domestic leagues that are played across the globe. Different players from different countries come together to join different franchises and play matches.

Here we present the list of IPL winners in the table which includes winner, runner-up, venue,  player of the match, and player of the series. IPL Winners List – Let’s have look at the table of IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2021.

IPL Winners since 2008

YearWinnerRunner UpVenueNumber of teamsPlayer of the Match
Player of the Series
2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super KingsMumbai8Yusuf PathanShane Watson
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers BangaloreJohannesburg8Anil KumbleAdam Gilchrist
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai IndiansMumbai8Suresh Raina
Sachin Tendulkar
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennai10Murali VijayChris Gayle
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super KingsChennai9Manvinder BislaSunil Narine
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata9Kieron PollardShane Watson
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI PunjabBangalore8Manish PandeyGlenn Maxwell
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata8Rohit SharmaAndre Russell
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangalore8Ben CuttingVirat Kohli
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad8Krunal PandyaBen Stokes
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers HyderabadMumbai8Shane WatsonSunil Narine
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsHyderabad8Jasprit BumrahAndre Russell
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi CapitalsDubai8Trent BoultJofra Archer
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight RidersDubai8Faf du PlessisHarshal Patel
2022Gujarat TitansRajasthan RoyalsAhmedabad10Hardik PandyaJos Buttler

IPL Winners List – All Season

The IPL Winners List Since 2008 for all seasons. The Inaugural Season was won by Rajasthan Royals. Deccan Chargers Hyderabad – The team that won the 2009 season has changed the franchise owner and its name later as Sunrisers Hyderabad and won in 2016.

YearWinner List
Rajasthan Royals
Deccan Chargers Hyderabad
Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings
Kolkata Knight Riders
2013Mumbai Indians
Kolkata Knight Riders
2015Mumbai Indians
Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017Mumbai Indians
Chennai Super Kings
2019Mumbai Indians
2020Mumbai Indians
Chennai Super Kings
2022Gujarat Titans

IPL Runner Up List – All Season

The Runner Up List for all seasons has seen the repeated teams failing to gain the tail. Though Chennai Super Kings have won titles multiple times, they have lost 5 finals to become runner up. RCB has failed 3 times so far to be in IPL Winners List.

YearRunner Up List
Chennai Super Kings
Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010Mumbai Indians
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings
2014Kings XI Punjab
Chennai Super Kings
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Rising Pune Supergiants
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Chennai Super Kings
2020Delhi Capitals
Kolkata Knight Riders
2022Rajasthan Royals

Player/Man of The Match In IPL Finals History

Each IPL Finals had seen different Man of the Match Winners Since the Start. Interestingly, Anil Kumble From RCB in 2009 is the only player to win the man of the match though the team ended up as a losing side.

Player of the Match
2008Yusuf Pathan
2009Anil Kumble
2010Suresh Raina
2011Murali Vijay
2012Manvinder Bisla
2013Kieron Pollard
2014Manish Pandey
2015Rohit Sharma
2016Ben Cutting
2017Krunal Pandya
2018Shane Watson
2019Jasprit Bumrah
2020Trent Boult
2021Faf du Plessis
2022Hardik Pandya

Player/Man of The Series In IPL History

The player who performed extremely well across the tournament will be awarded as Man of The Series. The list for a man of the series in IPL History is the list as follows.

Player of the Series
2008Shane Watson
2009Adam Gilchrist
Sachin Tendulkar
2011Chris Gayle
2012Sunil Narine
2013Shane Watson
2014Glenn Maxwell
2015Andre Russell
2016Virat Kohli
2017Ben Stokes
2018Sunil Narine
2019Andre Russell
2020Jofra Archer
2021Harshal Patel
2022Jos Buttler

IPL Winning Captains – All Season

Here are the list of Captains who won IPL titles since start of the Tournament. All Seasons IPL Winning Captain Includes, Rohit Sharma winning 5 times for Mumbai Indians in the Years – 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020.

MS Dhoni won 4 times for Chennai Super Kings in the years 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021. Gautam Gambhir – 2 times for Kolkata Knight Riders in 2012,2014. Shane Warne, David Warner, Adam Gilchrist won each one time for Rajasthan Royals (2008), Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016), and Deccan Charges (2009) respectively.

Winning Team Captain
2022Gujarat TitansHardik Pandya
2021Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
2020Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2019Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2018Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
2017Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2016Sunrisers HyderabadDavid Warner
2015Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2014Kolkata Knight Riders
Gautam Gambhir
2013Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2012Kolkata Knight Riders
Gautam Gambhir
2011Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
2010Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
2009Deccan ChargersAdam Gilchrist
2008Rajasthan RoyalsShane Warne

Who Won Most Titles in IPL History? 

Mumbai Indians (MI) had become IPL Winners for 5 Times, whereas Chennai Super Kings (CSK) second the list with 4 IPL Trophies. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Hyderabad Based Franchise had held it 2 times.

Who had been Most Time Runner Up in IPL History?

Though Chennai Super Kings have won titles multiple times, they have lost 5 finals to become runner up. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) had failed to clinch the title thrice after reaching the finals.

Who won Most Man of The Series In IPL History?

Shane Watson, Andre Russell, and Sunil Narine had won the man of the series awards twice in the history of the IPL Tournament since 2008.

Also read: Indian Premier League: Top 20 Fastest Centuries in IPL Since 2008