Highest opening partnership in IPL
Highest opening partnership IPL

Providing the highest opening batting partnership plays a major role in the shortest format of cricket. While playing the short format game like the Indian Premier League it is very much essential to have a massive opening partnership.

Considering the fact that the ball helps the bowlers the most during the start of an innings, there is no denying that opening the innings is not an easy task. But over the years, the game of cricket has witnessed some openers who have enthralled the world with their sheer brilliance at the top of the order.

Cricket players from all around the world join together to play the cash-rich Indian Premier League. International players join hands with Indian domestic cricketers and play as a team in IPL which paves the way for many players to make debut in international format.

Highest Opening Partnership in IPL

Since its inception in 2008, a lot of opening pairs have held the title of the highest opening partnership in IPL. The record has been constantly broken and a new benchmark of opening partnerships in T20 has been set each time.

The current record of IPL’s highest opening partnership belongs to Jonny Bairstow and David Warner. The Sunrisers Hyderabad duo scored 185 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2019 IPL season at Hyderabad.

List of Highest Opening Partnership

Player 1 Player 2 Runs Team Opposition Season
Jonny Bairstow David Warner 185 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore 2019
Gautam Gambhir Chris Lynn 184* Kolkata Knight Riders Gujarat Lions 2017
Mayank Agarwal KL Rahul 183 Kings XI Punjab Rajasthan Royals 2020
Shane Watson Faf Du Plessis 181* Chennai Super Kings Kings XI Punjab 2020
Chris Gayle Tillakaratne Dilshan 167 Royal Challengers Bangalore Pune Warriors India 2013
Sachin Tendulkar DR Smith 162* Mumbai Indians Rajasthan Royals 2012
Mike Hussey Murali Vijay 159 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore 2011
Adam Gilchrist VVS Laxman 155* Deccan Chargers Mumbai Indians 2008
Mahela Jayawardene Virendra Sehwag 151 Delhi Daredevils Mumbai Indians 2013
Chris Gayle Virat Kohli 147 Royal Challengers Bangalore Kings XI Punjab 2016


Also read: Orange Cap Holders List in IPL History Since 2008


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here